Selection Sort Algorithm for Absolute Beginners

Discussion in 'C++' started by ManzZup, Feb 24, 2012.

1. ManzZup

ManzZup New Member

Production Manager:Software @ ZONTEK
    Home Page:
    http://zontek.zzl.org
    From the Bubble sort it was obvious that the sorting isn't efficient for larger list, even for a list more than 100 numbers [although you wont see any difference on a good machine]. So there's another lot of sorting algorithms out there and this is just one of them

Selection Sort

Once you see the way Selection sort works, you'll wonder why one would use this instead of Bubble Sort although the efficiency is roughly the same. Well i guess your thinking is correct, but there can be instances when "swapping" the two elements of the sequence is extremely CPU consuming bothersome [when it comes to pointers and stuff specially]. So instead you would go with an algorithm like this that will swap only when needed. For everyones sake let's go into the algorithm step by step.

How Selection Sort Works?

Just like the Bubble Sort the implementation and the idea behind is extremely simple. The following method will be used:
    1. Loop the no. of elements times (that's loop 10 times if there are 10 numbers in the sequence).
    2. Find the minimum number in each case (That's you loop again in the whole array starting from one element after the current element and till end to search for a value smaller than the current element)
    3. If there's a minimum, swap the minimum with the current, so always the minimum would go the front of the list.
    Ex: Sort a set of numbers {5,6,3,4,2} using Selection Sort
    • {5,6,3,4,2} First we start our main loop to iterate though the sequence, and we find number 5. We store the number and the index.
    • {5,6,3,4,2} Now we go searching in the REST OF THE NUMBERS to find a smaller value. We start from 6 as it's the immediate one after 5 (current element)