problem selecting a bitmap into printer DC

Discussion in 'MFC' started by hlin_do, Feb 9, 2007.

  1. hlin_do

    hlin_do New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a problem to SelectObject of Bitmap into memery DC. My code is like,
    Code:
    HINSTANCE hinstOriginal;
    hinstOriginal = ::AfxGetResourceHandle();
    ::AfxSetResourceHandle(g_hResInstance);
    
    CDC mem;
    CBitmap *oldBmp;
    CBitmap temp;
    BOOL B = temp.LoadBitmap(id);   //id is resource id 
    BITMAP BitMap;
    temp.GetBitmap(&BitMap);
    
    mem.CreateCompatibleDC( pPrintDC );             // a printer DC
    mem.SetMapMode (pPrintDC->GetMapMode ());
    
    oldBmp = mem.SelectObject(&temp);       // this call returns 0 on some PCs! 
    
    CPoint size;
    size.x = BitMap.bmWidth;
    size.y = BitMap.bmHeight;
    mem.DPtoLP(&size);
    
    BOOL bret = pGDoc->m_pDC->StretchBlt(m_iX,
                    m_iY*-1,
                    m_iWidth,
                    m_iHeight*-1, 
                    &mem,
                    0,
                    0,
                    size.x,
                    size.y,
                    SRCCOPY);
    This code works on same PC, but not on others, SelectObject returns 0;
    Please help.

    Thank you very much.

    hlin_do

    henryzlin@hotmail.com
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2007
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,335
    Likes Received:
    377
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Check out the error code with the GetLastError.
     
  3. hlin_do

    hlin_do New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    GetLastError returns 0 befaore and after SelectObject call

    hlin_do
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,335
    Likes Received:
    377
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I see a definite problem here

    BITMAP BitMap;

    Variable is declared but not initialized

    temp.GetBitmap(&BitMap);

    GetBitmap should not work to the variable which is not initilaized

    oldBmp = mem.SelectObject(&temp);

    Obvious reason is it should fail

    On some systems the garbage for BitMap may not be NULL.
     
  5. hlin_do

    hlin_do New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I know how to make it work now. Basicly, I need to load as DIB instead bitmap.

    Thanks anyway!

    hlin_do
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice