Search Fields In ASP??? Please Help :(

Discussion in 'ASP' started by Arran, Sep 10, 2007.

  1. Arran

    Arran New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi All,

    Basically i am trying to add an additional search to a website, my ASP knowledge is quite limited although i seem to be getting there. i have introduced the search field into page and have the funtion setup. however what i dont seem to be able to find is the fields/functions its calling.

    heres the function code:
    Code:
    function ViewExistingShippingAddresses2() {
                if ((document.Update.search_ship_to2.value == "") || (document.Update.search_ship_to2.value == "Search By Cost Centre")) {
                      alert("Please enter a Cost Centre to search for.  If you do not remember the full ID, enter the starting characters for a broader search.");
                      return false;
                }
                else {      
                      document.Update.MM_submit_action.value = 'ShippingAddresses';
                  document.Update.submit();
                }
    
    and the form field:
    Code:
    <input name="search_ship_to2" type="text" class="formstyleControl" id="search_ship_to2" tabindex="94" value="Search by Cost Centre" size="36" maxlength="100" onFocus="this.value='';"></td>
                                  <td width="20"><input name="button_search_ship_from2" type="button" class="formstyleControl" value="Search" onClick="ViewExistingShippingAddresses2();">
    im really just trying to find where i would pull the data from for this? how would i get it to search based upon cost centre rather then address?

    (viewexistingshippingaddress2 is an additional field which i have created.

    please someone help i've been stuck on this for days... really need some help :(

    thanks,

    Arran
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 10, 2007
  2. jwshepherd

    jwshepherd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    VP Technology Corporation
    Location:
    Texas
    Home Page:
    http://www.officialhackers.com
    Code:
    document.Update.MM_submit_action.value = 'ShippingAddresses';
    You probably have a SQL server with a stored function called Shipping Address, look through the SQl database and you can copy it and add a few new fields or criteria for your new search.
     
  3. Arran

    Arran New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi,

    thanks for the reply.

    i have attached the files in question.

    what i am trying to do is to introduce another search function underneath alternative ship to address.

    the new search needs to be based on searching for CostCentre.

    no matter what i seem to do i cant get it right, if someone could have a look for me it would be most appreciated!

    (3 files attached in the zip they all seem to have something to do with it.)

    cheers,

    <<Attachment removed>>
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,341
    Likes Received:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    83
    I have removed the attachments and please do not attach the complete project and ask to debug / find bugs. Take the pain of discussing it and explaining it and also use your code snippets in the posts where you think could be a potential problem.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice