To Read/Write data stored in a Structure to and from file.

Discussion in 'Win32' started by Gurjeet Singh Batth, Jan 4, 2008.

1. Gurjeet Singh Batth

Gurjeet Singh Batth New Member

Software Engineer
    Hi EveryBody, I am again here with a petty issue................
    Please Help me, I am a newly born programmer to MFC

To Write/Read structure on File, I wrote the following code.

Code:
    /* [B]test[/B] is a structure defined in stdafx.h*/
    	/*
    	struct [B]test[/B]
    	{
    	CString name;
    	CString age;
    	};*/

Code:
    void CFileOperationsDlg::OnBnClickedButton1()
    {
    	this->UpdateData (TRUE);
    	CFile f;
    	CFileException Fexcep;
    	test buffWrite;
            test buffRead;

buffWrite .age ="27";
    	buffWrite .name = "My Name";

f.Open ("E:\\MyFile.bcr", CFile ::modeCreate | CFile ::modeWrite  ,&Fexcep);
    	f.Write (&buffWrite,sizeof(buffWrite ));
    	f.Close ();

if(f.Open("E:\\MyFile.bcr", CFile ::modeRead ,&Fexcep) == FALSE)
    		return;
    	try
            {
    	        f.Read (&buffRead ,sizeof(buffRead ));
    	}
    	catch(CException *e)
    	{
    		e->AssertValid ();
    	}
    	f.Close ();
    }
    The Following Exception occurs when the last statement in code executes.........
    Unhandled exception at 0x7c176d3f (mfc71d.dll) in FileOperations.exe: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0xfeeefeee.

2. zahra_d84

zahra_d84 New Member

I was faced with this problem.Who can help me make.

3. Gene Poole

Gene Poole New Member

CString is a class, not a plain old data (POD) type so it behaves differently. The MFC way to deal with this is serialization. All MFC classes derived from CObject support serialization. This is a means of taking all the typically hierarchical data stored in a class structure and converting it to a linear format more appropriate for storing in a stream. You can lookup MSDN help on serialization for more information.