Normalisation 1NF 2NF 3NF

Discussion in 'Database' started by dolores777, Feb 27, 2010.

1. dolores777

dolores777 New Member

Hi there, this is my first post on this forum and i hope someone can help me,

I am a student studying information systems and i have an assigment on database normalisatio which i am stuck on - basically i have been givem a bunch of info and i need to normalise it in 1NF then 2NF then 3NF and im unsure of how to do it

ive been doing a lot of reading but cannot figute it out...

If i past the pictures on here of the info i have will some one help? :happy:

2. dolores777

dolores777 New Member

i need to normalise the following information and explain how i got from 1NF to 2NF to 3NF

i47.tinypic.com/2csbh38.jpg
    i49.tinypic.com/j9rrkw.jpg
    i45.tinypic.com/jl57jq.jpg
    i49.tinypic.com/9iwe1e.jpg

please add htp: //

the case study is as follows:

Case Study: BlueSwim Swimming Club

BlueSwim Swimming Club is a local amateur swimming club. An interview with BlueSwim's Chairman, Albert has provided the following information.

The club was established a number of years ago and Albert took over as chairman approximately 3 years ago. The club runs entirely on volunteers, who coach the swimmers, organise competitions and run a club shop selling costumes, goggles and other swimming paraphernalia at a small profit to the club. The club has approximately 200 members of all ages and abilities, but predominantly children aged eight to fifteen.

Each member pays membership fees once per year, which pays for pool use, running local galas and coaches to take the team to away matches. The club has a number of teams that compete in a variety of leagues. The information for this is kept on the Internet by each league’s committee and Albert is not interested in duplicating information that is readily available on the Internet.