Loading a bitmap file

Discussion in 'C++' started by wind_addict, Nov 12, 2007.

1. wind_addict

wind_addict New Member

Systems Admin
    Hello everyone I am a noob in c++ and am writing a little game. I am wanting to read a bitmap file into my program into a memory DC and assign a HBITMAP handle to it so I can then BitBlt it as needed. The bitmap is an image of the tiles I need to use. I know how to load the bitmap if I make it a resource in the executable file, however as there will be a number of images I need, I want to be able to read the bitmaps as needed from the actual .bmp file. I have tried quite a few tutorials found through google but with no luck. I only need to read in 24bit bitmaps, so don't need any code for palettes.

Could someone shed some light please? I am reading the file header and info headers OK, and the data. I think I am going wrong from there because when I try and do a CreateDIBitmap from the data, it does not show anything except a black box.

thanks

2. NewsBot

NewsBot New Member

Use the LoadImage function and it will help you get the image from the disk.

3. wind_addict

wind_addict New Member

Systems Admin
    Hi Shabir I want to pack all my image files into one big .dat file, therefore need to load the bitmap using raw methods. I am using LoadImage in the meantime, by would prefer to do it the other way.

4. NewsBot

NewsBot New Member

Thats pretty simple. I would share one of my such experience where I have done something similar. What I did is used a Guid to distinguish the pack and unpack the data file which was an executable file.

I wrote one executable (which I could not share) which reads the content of the file in the folder and puts them into the executable seperated by a special string .