Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Access

Discussion in 'Visual Basic ( VB )' started by viv345, Mar 13, 2010.

  1. viv345

    viv345 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Tried making something new i.e "adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Access and for deleting the data from Access instead of inserting delete button/command delete it by double clicking items added in list box"

    Project attached
     

    Attached Files:

    • 2.zip
      File size:
      12.8 KB
      Views:
      430
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,375
    Likes Received:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    Please do not attach your complete projects but try to explain what is working and what not.
     
  3. viv345

    viv345 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    Sorry it is not a full project it is a trial to add items in 2 list boxes so that the data remains constant and it can be seen after quitting also. and for deleting both from access and through my project.
    Thanks
     
  4. viv345

    viv345 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    In this project I am getting problem i.e: after adding data list box remains empty and fields in access also remains empty. Is their any problem in coding. (Where I am doing Wrong?)
     
  5. viv345

    viv345 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    Written the coding as follow:

    Code:
    Dim Conn As ADODB.Connection
    Dim Rs As ADODB.Recordset
    
    Private Sub cmdAdd_Click()
    If Text1.Text Or Text2.Text Or Text3.Text > 0 Then
    With Rs
    .AddNew
    Field1 = Text1.Text
    Field2 = Text2.Text
    Field3 = Text3.Text
    .Update
    End With
        ' Add the string that is currently in the textBoxes to the List Boxes
        List1.AddItem Text1.Text
        List2.AddItem Text2.Text
        List3.AddItem Text3.Text
        Text1.Text = ""
        Text2.Text = ""
        Text3.Text = ""
    End If
    End Sub
    
    Private Sub List1_DblClick()
    Dim Field1 As String 'name of the user
    'If no user is selected or listbox is empty then
    If List1.SelCount < 1 Or List1.ListCount < 1 Then MsgBox "Select the users to delete": Exit Sub
    
    Field1 = List1.List(List1.ListIndex) ' store the name of the selected user
    Rs.MoveFirst ' Move to the first record
    'Loop thru the records
    Do While Not Rs.EOF
        If Rs("Field1") = Text1.Text Then ' If both matches
            Rs.Delete ' then delete
            List1.RemoveItem List1.ListIndex ' and remove it from list box
            Exit Sub ' and exit the sub
        End If
        Rs.MoveNext
    Loop
    
    MsgBox "Empty database"
    
    End Sub
    
    Private Sub Form_Load()
    Set Conn = New ADODB.Connection
    Conn.Provider = "Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0"
    Conn.ConnectionString = "Data Source=" & App.Path & "\Db1.mdb"
    Conn.Open
    Set Rs = New ADODB.Recordset
    Rs.Open "SELECT * from table1", Conn, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic
    Do While Not Rs.EOF = True
    [COLOR=Black][B]List1.AddItem Rs("Text1.Text")[/B][/COLOR] ([SIZE=4][U][B]After debugging it is giving error over here[/B][/U][/SIZE])
    List2.AddItem Rs("Text2.Text")
    List3.AddItem Rs("Text3.Text")
    Rs.MoveNext ' Move next
    Loop
    End Sub
    
    Private Sub Form_Unload(Cancel As Integer)
    
    Rs.Close
    Conn.Close
    End Sub
    
    Private Sub cmdQuit_Click()
    Unload Me
    End Sub
    
    Private Sub Text2_Click()
    Form1.Text2.Text = Val(Form1.Text1.Text) * 1#
    End Sub
    
    Private Sub Text3_Click()
    Form1.Text3.Text = Val(Form1.Text2.Text)
    End Sub
    
    Private Sub List2_DblClick()
    Dim Field2 As String 'name of the user
    
    If List2.SelCount < 1 Or List2.ListCount < 1 Then MsgBox "Select the users to delete": Exit Sub
    
    Field2 = List2.List(List2.ListIndex) ' store the name of the selected user
    Rs.MoveFirst ' Move to the first record
    'Loop thru the records
    Do While Not Rs.EOF
        If Rs("Field2") = Text2.Text Then ' If both matches
            Rs.Delete ' then delete
            List2.RemoveItem List2.ListIndex ' and remove it from list box
            Exit Sub ' and exit the sub
        End If
        Rs.MoveNext
    Loop
    
    'Just in case but it will never happen
    MsgBox "Empty database"
    
    End Sub
    
    Private Sub List3_DblClick()
    Dim Field3 As String 'name of the user
    'If no user is selected or listbox is empty then
    If List3.SelCount < 1 Or List3.ListCount < 1 Then MsgBox "Select the users to delete": Exit Sub
    
    Field3 = List3.List(List3.ListIndex) ' store the name of the selected user
    Rs.MoveFirst ' Move to the first record
    'Loop thru the records
    Do While Not Rs.EOF
        If Rs("Field3") = Text3.Text Then ' If both matches
            Rs.Delete ' then delete
            List3.RemoveItem List3.ListIndex ' and remove it from list box
            Exit Sub ' and exit the sub
        End If
        Rs.MoveNext
    Loop
    
    MsgBox "Empty database"
    
    End Sub
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 2, 2010
  6. viv345

    viv345 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    In this code, where i am doing wrong? Pl help!
     
  7. virxen

    virxen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    maybe
    List1.AddItem
    Rs("Field1")
     
  8. viv345

    viv345 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    I have tried that but there is a same problem. Pl help?
     
  9. virxen

    virxen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    the first project you send had 2 listboxes,
    but when you posted your code later you mentioned 3 listboxes why?

    the correct code is

    Code:
    ............
    List1.AddItem Rs(1).value
    List2.AddItem Rs(2).value
    ............
    
     
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2010
  10. viv345

    viv345 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    Getting same problem pl. help
     
  11. viv345

    viv345 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    Getting same problem pl. help
     
  12. virxen

    virxen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    send your project in a zip file with the database you have in order to look at it.
     
  13. viv345

    viv345 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    I have attached the file in zip
     

    Attached Files:

    • p.zip
      File size:
      16.2 KB
      Views:
      452
  14. virxen

    virxen Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    90
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Re: Need help in adding data in listbox; data entered in list box saves data in Acce

    change this and tell me again what is your problem


    Code:
    ..........
    Private Sub cmdAdd_Click()
    [COLOR=Red]If Trim(Text1.Text) <> "" And Trim(Text2.Text) <> "" And Trim(Text3.Text) <> "" And Trim(Text4.Text) <> "" And Trim(Text5.Text) <> "" And Trim(Text6.Text) <> "" Then[/COLOR]
    With Rs
    ...............
    
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice