how to use explicit keyword in C++

Discussion in 'C++' started by shyam_oec, May 17, 2010.

  1. shyam_oec

    shyam_oec New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Developer, .NET Framework
    Location:
    Jamshedpur
    Hi,
    please have a look at this code.

    Code:
    
     class A {
            public:
                    explicit A(int);
            };
    
    main()
    {
    A obj=8;
    }
    
    
    While compiling i am getting error "Type name expected" at "explicit" keyword.
    What could be the possible reason and its solution?

    Thanks
     
  2. xpi0t0s

    xpi0t0s Mentor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Senior Support Engineer
    Location:
    England
    Usage looks OK. What compiler are you using? Is it one that doesn't support the "explicit" keyword?
     
  3. shyam_oec

    shyam_oec New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Developer, .NET Framework
    Location:
    Jamshedpur
    I am using Turbo C++ version 3. Which version should i use?
    Thanks.
     
  4. xpi0t0s

    xpi0t0s Mentor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Senior Support Engineer
    Location:
    England
    Certainly not an ancient compiler that was actually coded by a dinosaur, that's for certain.

    You will need to use a modern compiler if you want to use modern languages. gcc does a good job of keeping up with the times, or you could use the Microsoft compilers (downloadable for free from MSDN).
     
  5. shyam_oec

    shyam_oec New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Software Developer, .NET Framework
    Location:
    Jamshedpur
    I have Visual Studio 2008. But i don't know how to create C++ application on them.Can you guide?
    Thanks,
     
  6. xpi0t0s

    xpi0t0s Mentor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    3,009
    Likes Received:
    203
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Occupation:
    Senior Support Engineer
    Location:
    England
    It's really not hard. File -> New -> Project; in Project Types pick Win32 under Visual C++.
    What happens next depends on what kind of project you want. Given that your ability is such that you can't find File New Project, I suggest starting with the template Win32 Console Application.
    Give it a name and location, it will create a basic project that you can build and run (maybe after adding a line to display Hello World) using the cunningly named menu Build -> Build Solution. After building, fix any compile errors, then use the menu Debug -> Start Without Debugging to run the program.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice