how to detect the push button

Discussion in 'C' started by shir, Jun 18, 2007.

1. shir

shir New Member

Hi..
    I'm new in programming microcontroller in c. And I was given an assignment to write a simple program to turn 'ON' and "OFF' the LED by pressing push buttons. The microcontroller i'm using is PIC18F4620. And i'll need 1 LED and 2 push buttons to program this. I have already tried to write the program but it doesnt work. Here is my program:

Code:
    #include <p18f4620.h>

#pragma config OSC = HS
    #pragma config WDT = OFF
    #pragma config LVP = OFF

#define btn_on                 PORTBbits.RB4
    #define btn_off                 PORTBbits.RB5
    #define led                       PORTAbits.RA0

void press(void);
    void on(void);
    void off(void);

void main(void)
    {
                 TRISA = 0;                                   //set Port A(LED) as output
                 PORTAbits.RA0 = 0;                     //reset LED

[U]while(btn_on != btn_off)[/U]         //wait for btn press

if (btn_on = 1)                          //btn on pressed
                 on();

if (btn_off = 1)    //btn off pressed
                 off();
    }

void on(void)
        {
                  [U]while(btn_on);[/U]                      //wait for btn(RB4) released
                  PORTAbits.RA0 = 0x0F;                  //on LED
        }

void off(void)
        {
                 [U]while(btn_off);[/U]                  //wait for btn(RB5) released
                  PORTAbits.RA0 = 0x00;              //off LED
        }

the underline statement is the one i not sure whether is correct or not. I have being working on this for a week. But still cant get the program run correctly. Hope to get some guide. Thank.

2. DaWei

DaWei New Member

Semi-retired EE
    Home Page:
    http://www.daweidesigns.com