C & C++ Question

Discussion in 'C++' started by SoireeExtreme, Mar 30, 2007.

1. SoireeExtreme

SoireeExtreme New Member

Home Page:
    http://finalround.byethost7.com/
    Hi, I'm new here and new to C and possibly C++. I have not yet started learning either one. I've been looking up tutorials and whatnot on the web. And questions jumped into my head.

"Is C and C++ pretty much the same and/or go together?"

I was only wondering this because I see C & C++ together in a lot of places. Meaning links saying "Learn More About C & C++."

So it made me curious before I started learning so I could be on the correct page and not some fool jumping into the programming and whatnot.

Thanks for any replies.

2. DaWei

DaWei New Member

Semi-retired EE
    Home Page:
    http://www.daweidesigns.com
    C++ was designed by Bjarne Stroustroup as a much more powerful C-type language. Often, it is said that C++ is a 'superset' of C. This is not strictly the case, but might serve as an initial approximation.

C++ adds abilities that support easier object oriented design methodologies. One should not take that to mean that object oriented design is a software invention. Mechanical and hardware designers have been using it for hundreds of years.

C++ is also more strongly typed. There are plenty of valid C statements that will not compile properly as valid C++. Some things, such as structures, are substantially different when one lifts the hood and takes a look.