Beginner - how to draw a relational database (plan)

Discussion in 'Database' started by Databasesfordummes, Nov 6, 2012.

1. Databasesfordummes

Databasesfordummes New Member

Hi,

What do people mean when they say to "draw a database"?

I need to draw a relational database and I'm a absolute beginner. I'm not sure what is meant by the word draw? I was going to either write/draw it out but I downloaded MySQL in case it would be useful.

Where do I start with this? Do I need to just write out the titles of all the different areas of info that I need or do I draw almost a mindmap type of plan where I say that, for example, a name is connected another piece of info and so on. How do I differentiate between what goes under primary key, secondary key, entity(?) etc or do I even need to go in to that much detail if it's just an initial drawing of the database.

Thank you for your suggestions and for your patience with my lack of skills!

:worried:

2. Databasesfordummes

Databasesfordummes New Member

84 views and no suggestions yet - uhoh! If anyone could give any suggestions, even a quick pointer as to what a plan entails or should look like. I have no idea where to start, so any suggestions at all, even for databases in general, would be great :)

I also have no idea how to use "MySql", so the basic steps of setting up things and what the basic buttons mean would also be really helpful, as reading about it on the net is so confusing!

Thanks again.

3. state

state New Member

Hello Databasesfordummies
    Drawing means drawing.You can draw an ER diagram depicting the relationship between the entities and also depict the attributes associated with them.There are tons of other things you can do.
    http://creately.com/blog/diagrams/er-diagrams-tutorial/
    All the Best

4. Juliette

Juliette New Member