2D array

Discussion in 'Java' started by Crooksy, Sep 21, 2006.

1. Crooksy

Crooksy New Member

Hello,

Could someone help me out, I am very new to programming( as one could tell by the Question I am about to ask.)

I am trying to assign a value to random spots in a 2D array. This is what I have so far:
    Code:
    [COLOR=Blue]
       /** 
         * Generates random coordinates, puts them into a new CoordinatePair,
         * returns CoordinatePair - This method is complete and requires no change.
         * @return a randomly-generated pair of coordinates within the bounds of the
         * grid
         */[/COLOR]
        private CoordinatePair getRandomCoordinates()
        {
            CoordinatePair coords = new CoordinatePair();  // create a new coordinate pair object
            coords.setRow(random.nextInt(ROWS));           // randomly select a row, put row info into object
            coords.setColumn(random.nextInt(COLUMNS));     // randomly select a column, put column info into object
            return coords;                                 // return the object
        }

[COLOR=Blue] /**
         * Invokes getRandomCoordinates() to put a specific value into the number of
         * grid positions specified by the first parameter, e.g. 
         * setRandomCoordinates(5, 'T') will set the target char 'T' into 5 different
         * locations in the grid on which it is invoked. This method will be invoked on the 
         * working grid.
         * @param the number of randomly-generated coordinates to set with the value,
         * the target value to set
         */
     [/COLOR]   
    This is where I need help, setting up this next method:

public void setRandomCoordinates(int numCoordsToSet, char valueToSet)

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 21, 2006
  2. shabbir

shabbir Administrator Staff Member