is it possible reading an exe

Discussion in 'Meet and Greet' started by bhavanaindia, Oct 10, 2008.

  1. bhavanaindia

    bhavanaindia New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi friends.
    I had been searching the net for last many days but diid not get any idea about "can we read out an exe?"
    My problem is :

    I have an exe which is like a form.It takes an input number and generates 2 output numbers. which are displayed on the form.
    the numbsers are regenerated after every 30 seconds.
    I want to get these number out of the exe ,and store in some variable.

    If any body suggest any solution, please tell the API also.
    I want to do it on windows using c++.
    (any other language may also work but paltform is windows).

    NOTE: we dont have the code of the exe.
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,375
    Likes Received:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    83
    You can change the resource but not the business logic. Search the forum for Change Icon of an exe file
     
  3. neo_vi

    neo_vi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    http://computertipaday.blogspot.com
    S. u can do it. Get a good disassembler so that u can see where it stores the number
     
  4. bhavanaindia

    bhavanaindia New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi Shabbir,
    thanks for the link.

    I have one more problem, hope u will help me

    1. By only seeing the exe how would I search for the resources ? should I saerch for every possible resource which I need to acccess and which are whizible in the exe ?

    2.Suppose I get the handle of the dialogue box, now how will I get the handle of the resources which are inside this dialogue box. e.g button, text box etc, check box , menu bar etc?
    can u suggest some APIs as I have never used windpws SDK before.
     
  5. neo_vi

    neo_vi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    http://computertipaday.blogspot.com
    use "reshack" or if u want to get the handle "PE explorer" will sound better.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice