Can i use my External hardrive as a OS

Rise's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2009
Go4Expert Member
I have a realy bad computer 4gb hardrive with a ancient motherboard dont care what it is dont even want to look! It has 256gb ram a 1.6ghz single core proscessor man this computer sucks, but anyway even with the most basic information on this computer it limits me just having it. I cant add any programs i cant do anything:

I want to know is their anyway that you can use a external hardrive as a operating system instead of using a IDE hardrive or any internal hardrive and use my external hardvie via USB with all uploaded files from my 4gb IDE drive copyed to my external hardvie instead?

So to simplify can i use a external hardrive as the only hardrive
techgeek.in's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2009
Skilled contributor
No, u cnt.. u need a configuration which can boot from external storage device like external hard disk and pen drive...
Rise's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2009
Go4Expert Member
So what your tellming is it wont feed off usb directly it needs to have a IDE OR SATA attacted to it. But isnt their something you can buy that converts a external drive from USB to SATA? If so would that be sufficent enough to use the external drive to be a primary OS
Rise's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2009
Go4Expert Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by techgeek.in View Post
No, u cnt.. u need a configuration which can boot from external storage device like external hard disk and pen drive...
isnt their a convertor that converts a usb to a pin drive as indicated on my forum from my last thread
venami's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2008
Ambitious contributor
All you need is a bootable hard drive or pen drive. Configure your external hard deive/pen drive using a pen drive bootable OS and then you can use like what you had asked.

Quote:
...dont care what it is dont even want to look! It has 256gb ram a 1.6ghz single core proscessor...
Wow! You have a system with 256GB RAM?
Rise's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2009
Go4Expert Member
Wow! You have a system with 256GB RAM? [/quote]


I ment 256kb lol.... sorry typo lol....
techgeek.in's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2009
Skilled contributor
256 KB wow!!!!
techgeek.in's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2009
Skilled contributor
@Rise
do u have any problem in mentioning "MB" ?
mayjune's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2009
Invasive contributor
Quote:
Originally Posted by techgeek.in View Post
@Rise
do u have any problem in mentioning "MB" ?
lolz
nimesh's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2009
Invasive contributor
@Rise: Nice question.

First answer me what OS do you have currently.
And what all things you need to install and run from the external drive.

I have an option but that will use the systems resources only, except the hard drive which is what you require.
Rise like this