Need urgent help with C VIM program

Discussion in 'C' started by LiamSalt, Aug 8, 2013.

1. LiamSalt

LiamSalt New Member

I am new to coding in C and even newer to using VIM

I am currently trying to write a code that will store PID numbers of a child after a fork, I have to be able to enter an amount that will be created, so far I have managed to be able to get them to print (which puts me on the right path as far as I am concerned) but I am having issues.

Using the following code:

Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    #include <sys/types.h>
    #include <unistd.h>
    #include <stdlib.h>

int main(int argc, char *argv[])
    {
       int prod = atoi(argv[1]);
       int count = 0;

if(argc == 2)
       {
          while(count < prod)
       {
          printf("success\n\n");
          int i;
          i=fork();
          printf("\n");

if(i==0)
          {
             printf("Child printing");
             printf("getpid: %d, getppid: %d \n",getpid(), getppid());
          }

count++;
          }

}
       else
       {
          printf("Not enough paramterers");
       }

return 0;

exit(0);
    }
    while this has some success, it is for some reason creating a 3rd iteration and I can't work out why

The "success" print is more of a marker, but every time I run the program I get this result:

k110-1:~ s029119a$ ./try3.exe 2
    success

success

Child printinggetpid: 9335, getppid: 1
    success

k110-1:~ s029119a$
    Child printinggetpid: 9336, getppid: 1

Child printinggetpid: 9337, getppid: 1​

Can anyone offer any advice or tell me what I'm doing wrong, why is it doing this?

2. xpi0t0s

xpi0t0s Mentor

Senior Support Engineer