The scanf() function

Discussion in 'C' started by Player, Aug 3, 2007.

1. Player

Player New Member

Hi all, i'm new on this site and have some what i think are simple questions. I have had a good look on here and i feel a bit silly asking these basic questions. I am a complete beginner and would like to know a few things to help me on my way. If i need to go to another site which deals with novices then please point me in the right direction. I think this site id for experts only?

Why use the gets() function when theres the scanf() function?

Also when using the gets() function, if you want to have numbers inputed you have to use the atoi() and atof() to convert it to an int number. Is this because the input from the keyboard is text, even the numbers?

Hope this makes sense, like i say i am a complete novice so please excuse my dumb questions. I want to understand all of what i'm learning fully.

Thanks

2. shabbir

shabbir Administrator Staff Member

3. shabbir

Not really. At least I learn from here some of the things which I have never thought of. So its all about learning.

First of all any thing in a programming language can be done in more than one way and scanf provide the general functionality but gets provide some special functionality for string.

Because gets takes in strings and so when you need the input to be converted to some other data type you need to make the conversion using the functions.

4. Player

Player New Member

Thanks for the reply, i was starting to think i had asked a really dumb question.

I understand about the conversion when using the gets function but if the scanf function automatically converts it why bother with gets? I have also read that the gets function can receive more input than you tell it to making the excess input being dumped into memory which can cause problems, crashing etc. So again, why use gets?

Thanks in advance

P.S. Please tell me if i'm asking really dumb questions :)

5. shabbir