problem in a string copy function

Discussion in 'C' started by Unitedroad, Apr 30, 2007.

1. Unitedroad

Unitedroad New Member

I am a newbie with pointers. I have made this program which has a function that takes one string pointer as the arguement and copies the values stored at the location it points to , to another pointer and then returns that second pointer. This is the source code :
    Code:
    #include <stdio.h>
    char *StringCopy(char * NewString1);
    main() {
        char String1[80] = "How are you doing?";
        char *StringPointer1, *StringPointer2;
        StringPointer1 = String1;
        StringPointer2 = StringCopy(StringPointer1);
        puts(StringPointer2);
    }
    char *StringCopy(char *NewString1) {
        char *NewCopy = NewString1;    //a new character pointer created and initialised to the pointer from formal parameter

char NewString[80];            //a new character string defined  so as to initialise a new character pointer

char *NewString2 = NewString;  //a new character pointer initialised to the sting defined in previous line

char *NewCopy2 = NewString2;   //another pointer defined and made to the location pointed to the pointer defined and initalised in previous line

while(*NewCopy!='\0') {        
            *NewCopy2++ = *NewCopy++;
        }
        *NewCopy2 = '\0';
        return NewString2;
    }
    I think it should work but it giving some gibberish output and I am unable to find out why.\

It works fine when I use puts(NewString2) in StringCopy() fiunction itself.

I am using gcc , I have triend running this program on windows and Mac OS X and I got the problm both times.

I hope someone can help me out

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 30, 2007
  2. DaWei

DaWei New Member

Semi-retired EE
    Home Page:
    http://www.daweidesigns.com