router configuration in telnet

dieya's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Light Poster
hye...im new in PHP..and i have my project to configure the router by using telnet in PHP script
as i review and surf internet, to use telnet, we need to used fsockopen function to connect the telnet..
plzz.help me..where can i get a guideline or something that can be usefull for my project for router configuration using telnet....plzz..
0
jwshepherd's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Team Leader
what are you telneting into, a hardware router , a linux box. We need a lot more information before we can get started
0
dieya's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Light Poster
sorry...
want to telnet to the router for router configuration.for this project, i want to configure the router using telnet connection such as Ping, Telnet, router Rip, change hostname, set password in web based using PHP.
0
jwshepherd's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Team Leader
what kind of router?
0
dieya's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Light Poster
cisco 2600 series
0
pradeep's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2005
Team Leader
You can use Perl, it has module called Net::Telnet which can used to emulate a telnet connection through program!
0
dieya's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Light Poster
i have review perl coding..is that can be used in PHP...as i know perl is a simple set of Perl script....so can perl be used n translate to PHP??
as i surfing in internet..i also found 1 website were perl to php..http://www.cs.wcupa.edu/~rkline/perl2php/
can somebody gv me other suggestion or guideline.pls..
0
jwshepherd's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Team Leader
create a web page with all of the params you want. Then once you POST the page send that data to your perl to telnet the data into your cisco.
0
dieya's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2007
Light Poster
i already try one script To make a telnet connection with a Cisco router. i have try it n found error and can't understand it.plz,.explain to me...

[HTML]
PHP Code:
<?php 

//$value1=$_POST['text'];
$ip=$_POST['ip'];
$port=$_POST['port'];

$cfgServer $ip;  //IP of your router
$cfgPort    $port;                //port, 22 if SSH
$cfgTimeOut 10;

$usenet fsockopen($cfgServer$cfgPort, &$errno, &$errstr$cfgTimeOut);
?>
<textarea name="ios" cols="50" rows="10" id="ios">
<?php
if(!$usenet)
        {
        echo 
"Connection failed\n";
        exit();
        }
else
        {
        echo 
"Connected\n";
        
fputs ($usenet"toto\r\n");
       
fputs ($usenet"en\r\n");
       
fputs ($usenet"tutu\r\n");
       
fputs ($usenet"exit\r\n");
        while (!
feof($usenet))
                {
                echo 
". ".fgets($usenet128)."\n";
                }
        }
?>
   </textarea>
[HTML]
0
onlyxl's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Newbie Member
HI, i have come across this forum, and i would like to ask u guys to help me up wif my codes/scripts. i need to create a web based application to configure routers using perl script. as i have use net::telnet::cisco already.. this makes me telnet to the terminal server. as i'm totally new to PERL, please kindly guide me. show me one example of changing hostname from web based to configure router using perl script? any help will be deeply appreciated.