The Mystery of Scott/Tiger in Oracle

pradeep's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2005
Team Leader
You must have always wondered why there is a uname / pwd in Oracle called, Scott/Tiger....
Who is this scott ? Here is the answer to ur query....
So, who is Scott?

Bruce Scott was one of the first employees at Oracle (then Software Development Laboratories). He co-founded Gupta Technology (now known as Centura Software) in 1984 with Umang Gupta, and later became CEO and founder of PointBase, Inc. Bruce was co-author and co-architect of Oracle V1, V2 and V3. The SCOTT schema (EMP and DEPT tables), with password TIGER, was created by him. Tiger was the name of his cat.
coderzone's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Team Leader
Thats a nice peace of info.
stylishkishore's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2009
Go4Expert Member
very nice,,.
xpi0t0s's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2004
Mentor
It's only there if you select it at install time. Having a user called scott is by no means compulsory.
mayjune's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2009
Invasive contributor
nice.... been wondering this for quite long
In college we enter Scott/Tiger/Infotech
any idea why infotech...or is it set by our college?
mayjune's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2009
Invasive contributor
nice.... been wondering this for quite long
In college we enter Scott/Tiger/Infotech
any idea why infotech...or is it set by our college?
xpi0t0s's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2004
Mentor
Is it scott/tiger/infotech or scott/tiger@infotech?
If @ then that's the database alias - you're connecting in a client/server configuration and infotech is defined in $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin/tnsnames.ora.
Another way to do the same thing would be to set the environment variable TWO_TASK=infotech, then sqlplus scott/tiger would do the same thing.

If scott/tiger/infotech, no idea, never seen that syntax before, unless the password is "tiger/infotech".
mayjune's Avatar, Join Date: Jun 2009
Invasive contributor
@xp
its @

and what i asked was like scott tiger, is infotech come pre installed? if yes any reasons like above?
xpi0t0s's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2004
Mentor
No, infotech will have been setup by your sys admin. Have a look at tnsnames.ora and you'll see how it's defined, not much of any interest in there though.
The scott schema doesn't come pre-installed; you have to select it in the installer.
nimesh's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2009
Invasive contributor
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpi0t0s View Post
Is it scott/tiger/infotech or scott/tiger@infotech?
If @ then that's the database alias - you're connecting in a client/server configuration and infotech is defined in $ORACLE_HOME/network/admin/tnsnames.ora.
Another way to do the same thing would be to set the environment variable TWO_TASK=infotech, then sqlplus scott/tiger would do the same thing.

If scott/tiger/infotech, no idea, never seen that syntax before, unless the password is "tiger/infotech".
I know about the tns file but what is TWO_TASK
Is it used to asign the default database alias?