How to master C++ ?

Discussion in 'C++' started by CrazyGeek, Jun 6, 2010.

1. CrazyGeek

CrazyGeek New Member

Hi everybody!
    I'm new to C++. I have a little skill with Visual Basic, but I really don't know how to master C++. I have some troubles, can anyone help me plz?
    1. I suppose that to master C++, I must to learn basic syntaxes, structrure of a program, members of a program such as classes, variables and functions of all data types, and the last standard C++ library. Is all of that enough?
    2. Can anyone tell me the differences between basic C++ and advanced C++ ?
    3. When I refer some functions in standard library to use, I emphasize the words "to use", there's no problem to me, I can easily understand and call them successfully in my programs, but when I refer the prototype code of them, I understand nothing why they become so complicates. Such as the function ( member function) width in the class ios_base, its prototype is:
    streamsize width(streamsize wide);
    However, when using this member function with the object cout, I only need to call
    cout.width(a positive value of integer type);
    For example: cout.width(30);
    Obvisously, my understanding of this function is simpler than its prototype and surely never goes wrong. So what's better when I refer its prototype ?
    Plz help me go through out this problem, I bought a 6$ book of Standard C++ Library, but I can't find ease to learn C++ with it. Thank all !!!

2. shabbir

shabbir Administrator Staff Member

Do not create the same thread more than once and I have removed your other thread.

3. Mike911

Mike911 New Member

2. What should be advanced C++? Are YOU advanced ?
    3. What a nice prototype of a function.

4. xpi0t0s

xpi0t0s Mentor

Senior Support Engineer
    A book on the Standard C++ Library won't help you at all at this stage. You need a book that teaches you how to program in C++.