1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

increasing size of linux partition

Discussion in 'Linux' started by cerebrum, Jan 9, 2009.

  1. cerebrum

    cerebrum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi there,

    I have 250 GB Seagate hard disk running xp, vista, ubuntu.
    drives under xp are C, D, E . For xp os it is C(FAT32) size : 50 GB
    for vista it is D(NTFS) Size: 100 GB
    and 1 partititon (NTFS) for file storage ( 50 GB)

    and rest is for Ubuntu.

    what I want to do is to shrink vista drive space at least 20 GB and provide it to Ubuntu.
    OR any OTHER way !! I just want to increase the size of UBUNTU partition .

    Thanx
     
  2. neo_vi

    neo_vi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    Boot linux and find the tool Gparted or partition editor, u can easily shrink there. No files will get damaged. But to be on the safer side keep a backup in any other drive. After shrinking make the new partition as ext2 so that u can use it in ubuntu
     
  3. cerebrum

    cerebrum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hxxp://rapidshare.com/files/183823452/Screenshot.png.html

    I have enclosed a pic. {gparted on my system}
    have a look at it.

    thanx
     
  4. cerebrum

    cerebrum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    right clicking any drive does not give the option to resize.
     
  5. neo_vi

    neo_vi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    exactly which drive u wanna resize or alter. sda1 thro 6 except 3 are not available for resize, cos its mounted. If u wanna resize any of this right click on the drive (ntfs,fat32) and unmount it. U cannot unmount a linux partition if u boot ur system on it. and coming to sda3, it has some errors. U can get rid of that by running checkdisk. if u dont have any files on sda3, u can even delete the partition and allocate to linux. post ur doubts
     
  6. cerebrum

    cerebrum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    information on sda1, sda2, sda3 says it is unmounted. though I had a checkdisk on sda3 , the state is same i.e it still shows the exclamation mark.
    I can resize and move sd1 but the option is not available for sda2 and 3.

    after having a chkdsk on both the windows partiton I will let u know the result.

    Thanx
     
  7. cerebrum

    cerebrum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had a re chkdsk on both the windows partition but of no use since it shows the exclamation still in gparted. a/q to me ubuntu does not support partitioning ntfs may be, or the problem is with gparted as it shows both the NTFS partition in error state.
     
  8. neo_vi

    neo_vi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    gparted wont show erroneous data. So there may be some problem with ur drive.
    if u dont have any files in sda3, delete it and repartition.
    If u have files in it, then back it up and delete the partition.
    If u believe there is a problem in gparted, try using any other partition editor.
    and also, from the pic u posted, its clear that u are having three primary partitions.And u have installed linux in an extended logic drive. Its always good to have OS in a primary partition.
    http://www.pcguide.com/ref/hdd/file/structPartitions-c.html
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2009
  9. cerebrum

    cerebrum New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm !

    I have got vista in sda3 , even if i backup the partition and then delete it, would not it mess up the boot order ? Also, i used qparted and it has almost the same story . all the three partition i m using for windows (xp, vista and 1 more for storage) are primary partitioned.

    I m so messed up and credit goes to the ever-smiling owl (pc-guy) who "happily" partitioned my hard disk free of cost and had some "free" "pirated" software installed .

    anyways, the moral of the story is without some destruction I won't get wat i want. I may resize the 3rd partiton (primary,FAT 32) which is for storage since the option is available. but obviously i don't want to do so.
    thanx
     

Share This Page