How do I use .htaccess in the root folder without affecting sub-domains?

medoomi's Avatar, Join Date: Sep 2009
Light Poster
Hi,

The solution might be quite simple, but I'm having trouble locating it. Can anyone direct me the right place?

I host six websites with separate domains from one server (one of which is a primary domain, hosted in the root folder)

Presently, any .htaccess 301 folder re-directs that I put in the in the root folder affect not only the primary domain, but all sub-domains as well.

How do I avoid this?
Thanks.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
There is a way you can Test the Host and only take action for your main host and not sub-domain.
0
seopeter's Avatar, Join Date: Sep 2009
Go4Expert Member
Have you hosted direct or using any panel
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by seopeter View Post
Have you hosted direct or using any panel
Could not understand what you are asking?
0
medoomi's Avatar, Join Date: Sep 2009
Light Poster
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbir View Post
There is a way you can Test the Host and only take action for your main host and not sub-domain.
Thanks so much for your reply. That sounds really helpful. Could you enlarge--I'm assuming you mean code for the .htaccess file. Do you know where I can look this up?

Thanks
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
You should use something like this
Code:
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} my\.go4expert\.com$ [NC]  
RewriteRule ........
medoomi like this
0
medoomi's Avatar, Join Date: Sep 2009
Light Poster
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbir View Post
You should use something like this
Code:
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} my\.go4expert\.com$ [NC]  
RewriteRule ........
I've tried the following, but can't figure why it's not working
(I'm not sure of the right way to write this. I put myhostname for the domain name without the http and myhostnamewithhttpatthefront for the domain name with the http)

Code:
RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} myhostname$ [NC]
RewriteRule /gallery.html myhostnamewithhttpatthefront/gallery.php [r=301,nc]
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Probably then post the exact one but you would need double digit post count for that and making genuine posts in the forums can get you that easily
0
medoomi's Avatar, Join Date: Sep 2009
Light Poster
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbir View Post
Probably then post the exact one but you would need double digit post count for that and making genuine posts in the forums can get you that easily
OK, cool, thanks for your replies (I quickly get over my head on this one :-) )
0
medoomi's Avatar, Join Date: Sep 2009
Light Poster
OK, I've got it running, using the following code:
(I didn't realise the backslashes were necessary for the periods), and that I should not begin the rewriterole with a forward slash)

RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} my\.go4expert\.com$ [NC]
RewriteRule ^gallery.html$ newurl [r=301,nc]