how to use HTML to add "-" to fix in input box?

ckcy2008's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2010
Newbie Member
Hi everyone..how to make the input text box with "-" ?

like the text box is look like " - "

before the dash is 4 size, after the dash is 10 size.

whatever user key in 6 digits, it will become like this "1234-56"

how to make it like this in HTML?
0
kiddo's Avatar
Contributor
First, what is this input used for?
if it is for a verification or something like this, I think you can make two text box with limited length of input.

If you just want to use 1 text box, you must use javascript (I think). Coz as far as I know, HTML is just used for designing website, it's not a programming language.

HTML -> HyperText Markup Language
0
ckcy2008's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2010
Newbie Member
Thankx for ur reply

the input box, use for key in only.....
so, i have to create to input box??
[input with length 4] - [input with lenght 2] <--- is it like this?
0
SpOonWiZaRd's Avatar, Join Date: May 2007
Know what you can do.
Here is some javascript I use to make it so that the user can only enter numbers:

Code:
<script type="text/javascript">

function numbersonly(myfield, e, dec)
{
var key;
var keychar;

if (window.event)
   key = window.event.keyCode;
else if (e)
   key = e.which;
else
   return true;
keychar = String.fromCharCode(key);

if ((key==null) || (key==0) || (key==8) || 
    (key==9) || (key==13) || (key==27) )
   return true;

else if ((("0123456789+").indexOf(keychar) > -1))
   return true;

else if (dec && (keychar == "."))
   {
   myfield.form.elements[dec].focus();
   return false;
   }
else
   return false;
}
Then my button tag looks like this: <input type="text" name="IdNumber" onKeyPress="return numbersonly(this, event)" size="40" maxlength="15">
Maybe you can change the code to suit your goal?? I think.

Last edited by shabbir; 25Jan2010 at 17:08.. Reason: Code blocks
0
kiddo's Avatar
Contributor
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckcy2008 View Post
Thankx for ur reply

the input box, use for key in only.....
so, i have to create to input box??
[input with length 4] - [input with lenght 2] <--- is it like this?

yeah, that's what I mean (if you don't want to use javascript).
But if you want to use javascript, maybe you can try SpOonWiZaRd code
0
ckcy2008's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2010
Newbie Member
Thank you very much!!!! ok... i know how to do now...
xie xie
0
SpOonWiZaRd's Avatar, Join Date: May 2007
Know what you can do.
Here is also a link to a page that does it in a very cool way, look at where you have to enter your number. http://www.vuzu.tv/register/