Need help getting started

Discussion in 'C' started by Nichie, Mar 21, 2007.

1. Nichie

Nichie New Member

Hello, I would like to seek some help on a programming assignment I am doing. I have been programming for roughly a year or so. When I made it to my Data Structure class I feel like I've hit a wall. The class moves very fast and it's really hard for me to catch up since I am still trying to understand a lot of the key concepts from my previous classes. I would really appreciate it if somebody could point me towards the right direction and give me tip and advices overall. Also, by no means am I asking for someone to do the assignment, but rather, give me some ideas on how I should tackle the problem.

I really need help on getting started on this program since I have never done anything like this before. Should I be using a template? What does it mean to be able to switch out the three implementations by changing a line in the main program? What's the best way to do the implementation?

Please forgive my total newbness, I must apologize in advance since I will be asking a lot of noob questions. But I must understand these and I really would appreciate your help.

Chris

2. DaWei

DaWei New Member

Semi-retired EE
    Home Page:
    http://www.daweidesigns.com
    A list is nothing but a degenerate form of a tree. That is, it's just a totally unbalanced tree with the root at one end. The nodes are the same: data and two pointers. In a doubly-linked list one pointer points to the previous entry and the other points to the next entry. In a tree, one points to the left child and one points to the right child. In a map, there are essentially two items of data in a key:value relationship. The pointers are just part of the organizational structure. Read about the STL map container to get some ideas.