1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Forbidden 404 error

Discussion in 'Windows' started by snakebit, Sep 28, 2006.

  1. snakebit

    snakebit New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am a really novice at these things and don't quite understand how to fix it, googled it everywhich way to fix it but don't understand how to. So if someone can pls take a look at this type of error, thou only get it when trying to go to postalreporter.com web site which somehow is linked to the www.lunewsviews.com/. Here is the error displayed as is:

    Forbidden
    You don't have permission to access /resources/window_clerks/descriptions.htm on this server.

    Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Apache/1.3.36 Server at www.lunewsviews.com Port 80

    thanks so much in advance :)
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,285
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    They probably have messed the things up and there is nothing that you can do about it.
     
  3. evileye

    evileye New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2007
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    404 error is used by admins to hide the page if they don't want to show it i mean they want it offline for some users or they just purposly do it. They use some thing called as HONEYPOTS if i am not wrong to achive this...

    Its not ur mistake and as my friend shabir says there is less u can do unless u want to hack them out!

    :p
     
  4. davidmyers

    davidmyers New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Evileye, you are a complete and total idiot/noob. You haven't the slightest clue of what you're talking about do you? A Honeypot has nothing to do with 404 errors or really the internet at all. If you want to know what it is then go find out for yourself, just don't act like you know more than you do. 404 errors are errors. That's it! It just means that at that time the page or whatever was unaccessible. You can't get to it either because it didn't exist or the server had an error. Don't be an idiot and say that the admin didn't want someone to go there so hid it. There is no way that they can deny specific people access to a homepage like that. You can't do it unless he knew the specific ip of the person. Even then it would be pointless and a royal pain in the butt. Don't give advice when you haven't any to give.


    NOOB
     
  5. bizstreet_net

    bizstreet_net New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    Did you try and check if that IUSR has permission to access that folder? You have not mentioned how "postalreporter.com web site is linked to the lunewsviews.com", Did you add a Domain Alias or something or it is a simple redirect or a frames page?
     
  6. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    86
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    HTTP 404 => File Not Found
    HTTP 403 => Access Restricted/ Forbidden ( you might require an username/password to access the resource)
     
  7. bizstreet_net

    bizstreet_net New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Home Page:
    The solution could depend on many things. But possibly 2 things needs to be confirmed, the web directory has anonymous access enabled, and the files have IUSR read permissions. I think it is the later case as he mentioned that the error occurs when accessed from the second (linked) domain. So there has to be 2 IUSR (one for each domain) as well and both should have read permission to that folder.

    But it is difficult to troubleshoot without further inputs from snakebit
     

Share This Page