1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is dere any way to pause a for loop in between a program

Discussion in 'C' started by amanbaua, Aug 23, 2009.

  1. amanbaua

    amanbaua New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can u plzz help me out of dis prob of pausing a for loop
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,292
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Use break statement
     
  3. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    What do you mean pausing a loop? If you want to get out of it, then what shabbir said will work.
    If not, please post the question properly..
     
  4. c_user

    c_user New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Php dev
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    you can use exit(0) or if it is an infinite loop use the keys ctrl+c to terminate any .exe file..
    have a good day
     
  5. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    He wants to pause c_user, not exit the program..
     
  6. c_user

    c_user New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Php dev
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    mayjune i think by the use of break we will be "out" of the loop and not "pause"...acc. to my knowledge.

    can u please specify me whether i m right or not?
     
  7. mayjune

    mayjune New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    Pune,Delhi
    You are right, it will get him out of the loop, but then exit function wont pause it either. Would it?
    I think we all are not sure what he means by pausing a loop in between a program. Let him reply by what he implies...and whatever he means he can do it :)
     
  8. c_user

    c_user New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Php dev
    Location:
    Bhubaneswar
    yes you are right mayjune....
    he have to be specific so as to get the appropriate answer....:).
     
  9. amanbaua

    amanbaua New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ye may june i m in search of pausing a for loop
    the break and exit statements make the control get out of the loop
    i hav just made a graphics using c program in which if th for loop is paused for a moment my program will work
    so is i possi ble my friends dat a for loop can be paused?????
     
  10. SaswatPadhi

    SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

    Joined:
    May 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,343
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    STUDENT !
    Location:
    Orissa, INDIA
    Home Page:
    So, you want a delay in your loop ... "pause" diverted all of us to something different.

    Anyway, you can do it like this :

    For TurboC++ ::
    Code:
    #include <dos.h>
    .
    .
    .
    for(...)
    {
        .
        .
        delay(x); // This will put a delay of x milliseconds
        .
        .
    
    }
    
    For ANSI C++ ::
    Code:
    #include <windows.h>
    .
    .
    .
    for(...)
    {
        .
        .
        Sleep(x); // This will put a delay of x milliseconds
        .
        .
    
    }
    
     

Share This Page