command to know which OS we are using

sharmila's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2006
Contributor
Hi All,
Can anyone let me know what is command to know which operating syatem we are using?

Reagrds,
Sharmila.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Refer - OS version detection for 32 and 64 bit OS.
0
sharmila's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2006
Contributor
Hi Shabbir,
The article was good and I really don't know about this..

Actually my usecase is something like, we work on linux sys., but some time s we need to work on Solaris.. we know only the servers name and by using telnet we connect to the server. By seeing the name of teh machine we can't know it's OS, so will there be any command or any location in file system will tell us which OS it has?

Regards,
Sharmila.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
It would depend on OS to OS and you probably need to get the list of commands supported by the OS.
0
pradeep's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2005
Team Leader
type the command
Code:
uname -a
0
sharmila's Avatar, Join Date: Mar 2006
Contributor
Thanks pradeep.. got it....
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Add some to Pradeep's Reputation using icon near the post made by pradeep.
0
shanthi_amirtha's Avatar, Join Date: Sep 2010
Newbie Member
command to know which OS we are using
Code:
uname -o

[/quote]