C or C++

Discussion in 'C++' started by Player, Jul 2, 2009.

1. Player

Player New Member

Hi all.

Due to changing times in my line of work, ideally I need to be learning C++. I have some knowledge of C so this is my problem.

1 Do I continue and finish learning C, and then move to C++ or....

2 Do I scrap C and start C++?

I have been told that knowing C before learning C++ has it's disadvantages.

A few bit's of advice from you pro's would be much appreciated.

2. xpi0t0s

xpi0t0s Mentor

Senior Support Engineer
    C and C++ are different languages with shared heritage and just as with the question "should I use a hammer or a screwdriver" you have to look at the job you need to use the tool for. So if you need C++ then you should learn C++.

What do you need C for?

3. SaswatPadhi

SaswatPadhi ~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~

STUDENT !
    Home Page:
    http://www.crackingforfun.blogspot.com
    :iagree: with xpi0t0s.

:eek: :eek:

4. Player

Player New Member

Thanks guys, you have pretty much said what i thought you were going to say.

Cheers

5. Player

Player New Member

I work in the fruit machine industry and we use C to program our reel based products. I was kinda promised a job if I learnt C.

Things have changed a lot and video based product will be the way forward plus online stuff.

I don't want to waste my time learning C only to find out later on that things are going to change. I'm confident that video will be big so that's why i'm asking this question :)

6. xpi0t0s

xpi0t0s Mentor

Senior Support Engineer