beginner stuff

Discussion in 'C' started by kaporal_p, Jun 17, 2010.

1. kaporal_p

kaporal_p New Member

Hey,

I'm a total beginner going through C for dummies, which seems to be a good starting point.

I got to this exercise where I don't understand the output. It's a little program that calculates simple logs. here's the code

Code:
    {
        double ln,x;

for(x=0.1;x<6.0;x+=0.1)               
        {
            ln = log(x);              
            printf("ln(%3.1f) = %f\n", x, ln);   
        }
        return(0);

When I run the code the loop goes on through to 6.0. Why doesn't it stop at 5.9 since the 'test' is x<6.0?

The way I think the for loop works is
    (initial condition; test; incrementation)
    where the initial condition is tested, if true it is applied in a function.
    THEN it is incremented and then the loop starts again. Is this wrong?

Because if it's not, then why 6.0. I don't like this 6.0.

Thanks

2. shabbir

shabbir Administrator Staff Member

In floating at times it is 5.999 and not 6.0 and see if that is the case. Precision is how you should use to loop with floats.

3. kaporal_p

kaporal_p New Member

Hi, thanks for answering,

I'm not sur I understand what you mean.

Do you mean there is uncertainty with float variables and that the value could oscillate between 5.999 and 6.0?

But even if it is so, if for a fraction of a second it is 6.0 and it enters the loop at that moment, the loop shouldn't process it.

Or do you mean the condition is oscillating between x<5.999 and x<6.0? But even then the loop should reject it.

Sorry, I don't get it yet, could you push the explanation a little bit further?

Thanks

4. shabbir

shabbir Administrator Staff Member

Does it loop for 6.1? My guess would be no.

5. xpi0t0s

xpi0t0s Mentor

Senior Support Engineer