autosubmit url

Toddie's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2010
Contributor
I have a simple form here where you add your name and submit it.

diablouniverse.com/Grab/test.php

instead of filling out the form i want to make a url that does it for me

how can i do this?

an example would be something like this:

diablouniverse.com/Grab/test.php?&name=Yourname&submit

but i dont know exactly what i would need to write to make this url work...
0
venami's Avatar, Join Date: Dec 2008
Ambitious contributor
Instead of using the submit button, you can use navigation links(HTML <A> tag) for your purpose. Make the link URL as something like follows:

Code:
diablouniverse.com/Grab/target.php?name=Yourname
Here target.php is the target page where you want to navigate. i.e. When you click a link from test.php, then target.php will be loaded. In target.php, you can get the submitted variable using $_GET['name'].
Toddie like this
0
Toddie's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2010
Contributor
let me explain further.
I do not want to have the user type anything into the form.
I do not even need the form it is just an example for testing.

I need to have a url that posts data to a txt file.
I can do it with a form so i know it can be done with just a url.

I want to eliminate the form.

the data should be in the url itself so nothing has to be typed into a form.
0
Toddie's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2010
Contributor
like for example

I click this link
http://www.google.com/#hl=en&source=hp&q=test
this automatically submits "test" to google

how can I make a link that automatically submits "test" to my script?
the script may need to be adjusted to allow this, and I am not sure what I need in my url to actually make it work.

here is the code to the script
Code:
<?php
        // Check if the user submitted this form
        if (isset($_POST["submitwrite"])) {
 echo $_POST['usersname'];
                // Open the file in write mode
                $handle = fopen("writetest.txt","a+"); 
                
                // If successful
                if ($handle) {
                        // Write to that handle the username submitted in the form and the date
                        fwrite($handle,$_POST["usersname"] . " - " . date("Y-m-d"));
                        
                        // Close the file
                        fclose($handle);
                }
        }
?>
                

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">

<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" lang="en" xml:lang = "en" dir="ltr">
<head>
<meta http-equiv="content-type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<title>Submit example</title>
</head>
<body>

<!-- Notice how the form is submitting to itself -->

<form method="POST" action="test.php" name="form1" id="form1">
Name: <input type="text" name="usersname"/><br/>
<input type="submit" value="Write" name="submitwrite"/>
</form>

</body>

</html>
0
loyo's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Go4Expert Member
you can modify method="POST" to method="GET" , I don't know Whether this is your need?
Toddie like this
0
Toddie's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2010
Contributor
although venami gave a correct answer, loyo explained it in exact and simple terms.
I have accomplished the task at hand.

my only concern is that there is only a 100 character maximum for this function.
is there a way to increase the character maximum?
0
loyo's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Go4Expert Member
Is there any limit in your server setting, I have tested your code , it work well.
Toddie like this
0
Toddie's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2010
Contributor
Quote:
Originally Posted by loyo View Post
Is there any limit in your server setting, I have tested your code , it work well.
I also tested but must not have waited long enough for the refresh.
the variable is passed even though it is over 100 characters long.

I was misinformed about the limitations of the get variable from this article
http://www.w3schools.com/php/php_get.asp

it states

Note: The get method is not suitable for large variable values; the value cannot exceed 100 characters.
0
loyo's Avatar, Join Date: Feb 2010
Go4Expert Member
yes , the limitations is wrong, I have tested other website to verify it.

Last edited by loyo; 4Mar2010 at 07:13..
0
Toddie's Avatar, Join Date: Jan 2010
Contributor
thanks again!