8 bit signed to LED's

Discussion in 'Assembly Language Programming (ALP) Forum' started by laguna92651, Dec 3, 2009.

1. laguna92651

laguna92651 New Member

I am starting to write a assembly program for a mc68hc12. I will be reading a 8
    bit signed number into PortA and outputting the results to 7 segment LED's,
    common anode. I will be using Port P to output the segments and PortCan to
    control the LED's displayed. I assume I need 4 LED's, 1 for the sign and 3 LEDs
    for the max number of 128. How would I go about pulling the data in from a port and then displaying the number on a set of LED's?

Is there a straight forward way to do the signed number conversion using a lookup table or do I need to go through a more in depth conversion algorithm?

I'm not sure how to handle the input number once I read it from PORTA, should I
    store it in memory or work with it directly. I am new to assembly programming so
    pardon the simple questions, how would I pull off the digits of the inputed number to convert?

Thanks

2. ClaytonLandingham

ClaytonLandingham New Member

s there a straight forward way to do the signed number conversion using a lookup table or do I need to go through a more in depth conversion algorithm?

3. ClaytonLandingham

ClaytonLandingham New Member

s there a straight forward way to do the signed number conversion using a lookup table or do I need to go through a more in depth conversion algorithm?

----------------

4. xpi0t0s

xpi0t0s Mentor

Senior Support Engineer
    I don't see the point of Clayton's posts.

Easiest way if you've got the space is a 3*256-byte lookup table (3*256, because if you have 3 7-segment displays plus a sign, that's 22 bits, which will fit into 3 bytes). (You can generate the table with a quick C program on your PC.)