:( Smileys everywhere :)

SaswatPadhi's Avatar, Join Date: May 2009
~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~
Let's see :

std::pair == std :: pair -- GOOD
Code:
std::pair == std :: pair -- GOOD
Quote:
std:air == std :: pair -- BAD
HTML Code:
std::pair == std :: pair -- GOOD
PHP Code:
std::pair == std :: pair -- GOOD 
std :: pair != std:air -- BAD

So, after my last suggestion; you removed the use of smileys inside all kinds of code tags. But the issue is not fully resolved.

Suggestion :: I don't know if this is possible but can we restrict text -> smiley conversion with the following criteria :
(*) The text say ": p" (I added <space> to disable auto-conversion to smiley), should only be converted to "" IF, it is followed by a blank space so as to confirm that it's not the part of a word.

So, ': p' (without space in between) gets converted to , but std :: pair (without spaces) does not get converted ('cuz the smiley is not followed by a space after it).
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Yes the quote behavior is as expected and it should not be there only in codes. Inline code had the bug which I fixed it
xpi0t0s's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2004
Mentor
Ah but if you're smart you can write :p without getting a smiley... :-)
SaswatPadhi's Avatar, Join Date: May 2009
~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~
So xpi0t0s, you are not alone :p

The thing is if you "Disable smileys", it affects the whole text, not a portion of it ! I want smileys to be "intelligent". They should appear only where they are required and not in std::pair :)

Last edited by SaswatPadhi; 2Jun2009 at 12:46..
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
and thats why if you use inlinecode in std::pair they would go away
SaswatPadhi's Avatar, Join Date: May 2009
~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~
Thats fine but what about maths. Say, I have to write a ratio q : p ? Then ? It becomes q
xpi0t0s's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2004
Mentor
so you mean something like ratio q:p but without disabling smileys
SaswatPadhi's Avatar, Join Date: May 2009
~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~
Now you are trying to achieve it by putting it inside INLINECODE. But why ? That's not code.
What if I want that thing not to be different from from the rest of the text : black and not blue ?

"Plane crashilot dead". I want this text to look normal. I don't want to force INLINECODE.
xpi0t0s's Avatar, Join Date: Aug 2004
Mentor
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaswatPadhi View Post
"Plane crash: pilot dead". I want this text to look normal. I don't want to force INLINECODE.
Corrected that for you (should be a space after the colon by standard English rules of grammar). Hey, no smiley!
SaswatPadhi's Avatar, Join Date: May 2009
~ Б0ЯИ Τ0 С0δЭ ~
Ahhh.. After soooo many days (of research), I found another flaw. Look at this URL:
http://hypothetical.com/Homeroducts?search=xyz
(Don't click that )

URL inside INLINECODE:
http://hypothetical.com/Home:products?search=xyz

What do you have to say now, xpi0t0s ??!?

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpi0t0s
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaswatPadhi
"Plane crash: pilot dead". I want this text to look normal. I don't want to force INLINECODE.
Corrected that for you (should be a space after the colon by standard English rules of grammar). Hey, no smiley!
We were not discussing grammar here [LOL ]. I was pointing out an example. Anyway, as you didn't accept that, I came up with another .

BTW, which one of these is grammatically correct
(1) standard English rules of grammar [as mentioned by you], or
(2) standard rules of English grammar