Why Perl-CGI? Isn't reducing the Perl

oleber's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2007
Go4Expert Member
I worked with Perl for more than 5 years now and I almost never program for the web. Perl is used in many more environments than CGI.

Can I suggest to change the name to Perl?

How do I do my code to look like Perl? After looking in the website seams to be a good idea to set it as PHP.

Thanks
Marcos
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by oleber
I worked with Perl for more than 5 years now and I almost never program for the web. Perl is used in many more environments than CGI.

Can I suggest to change the name to Perl?
I have no idea about the language and as a consensus it was named as PER-CGI but I am working on your request and soon will have something like the one you suggested.

Quote:
Originally Posted by oleber
How do I do my code to look like Perl? After looking in the website seams to be a good idea to set it as PHP.
I could not get this?
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
PERL-CGI name was given to mean PERL and / or CGI but if you think that does mean restricting the domain of PERL we have no problem in making it to PERL (Which in turn means PERL with and without CGI)
0
oleber's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2007
Go4Expert Member
Notice that CGI can be done with any programing language. I have already done it with C/C++, Prolog and Perl. They are different things, so it's possible to have 2 forums.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by oleber
Notice that CGI can be done with any programing language. I have already done it with C/C++, Prolog and Perl. They are different things, so it's possible to have 2 forums.
As of now we will have only one forums but when we have more concrete things we will have the CGI forums. Now all the PERL-CGI forums will be renamed to PERL forums and when the task is complete I will make a post here for you to see.

Thanks for the info.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
It has been updated. Also if you have any more suggestions or feedback do tell us.
0
pradeep's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2005
Team Leader
To post Perl code on the forums with syntax highlighting put your code between [ code=perl ] <your code> [ /code ] without spaces in the special tags!
0
oleber's Avatar, Join Date: Apr 2007
Go4Expert Member
I would set the Perl under Programming. Is +- correct to set PHP (can be defined as a Perl version to the net ) inside the "Web Development" since is where is mostly used, but this is not the case of the Perl.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by oleber
I would set the Perl under Programming. Is +- correct to set PHP (can be defined as a Perl version to the net ) inside the "Web Development" since is where is mostly used, but this is not the case of the Perl.
Thats true. Will be making that changes soon.
0
shabbir's Avatar, Join Date: Jul 2004
Go4Expert Founder
Quote:
Originally Posted by shabbir
Thats true. Will be making that changes soon.
Done