1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

c program

Discussion in 'Meet and Greet' started by A.saikumar, Sep 1, 2011.

  1. A.saikumar

    A.saikumar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. what is the error in the following sequence of program.

    int i1;
    switch(i1)
    {
    printf("The value of I1 is :");
    case 1: printf("%d",i1);
    break;
    case 2: printf("%d",i1);
    break;
    default : printf("Invalid entry");
    }
     
  2. A.saikumar

    A.saikumar New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    need quick reply
     
  3. NewsBot

    NewsBot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    variable has not been initialized.
     
  4. gpk kishore

    gpk kishore New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when u have declared i1 has int no memory is allocated for that
    you must initalize it as for eg.., int i1=5;
     
  5. NewsBot

    NewsBot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,267
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Completely wrong. when you declare int i1 memory is allocated but not initialized. i1 is not a pointer but a variable here.
     
  6. gpk kishore

    gpk kishore New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sir my intention of writing that is memory is allocated only when it is defined
    when we have given int i 'i' value and its address vary from compiler to compiler
    so i have written in the above way
     
  7. imported_mehul

    imported_mehul New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dear Mr. gpk kishore

    Thanks for your post on the forum. They have been very helpful with my assignment. You are a very good computer programmer and really appreciate your help.
    Carry on your good work

    Mehul :)
     
  8. gpk kishore

    gpk kishore New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2011
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks mehul
    for your complement
     
  9. imported_Meghana

    imported_Meghana New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i1 is not initialised.so switch statement won't be able to know what the condition is.the whole program would be meaningless.
     
  10. ophelia.2010

    ophelia.2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    london
    There's no need to initialize!!! You'll first have to get the value from the user so that the values can be compared.so it goes like this

    int i1;
    scanf("Enter the value of %d",i1);
    switch(i1);
    ....................
    Then the program will be perfect!!!
     
  11. ophelia.2010

    ophelia.2010 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    student
    Location:
    london
    OOPS!!! SILLY mistake!!! that must be

    scanf("Enter the value of %d",&i1);

    You'll get it now!!!
     
  12. gurpreet guppi

    gurpreet guppi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Code:
    #include<stdio.h>
    #include<conio.h>
    void main()
    {
     int i;
     printf("The value of I is :");
    scanf("%d",&i);
    switch(i)
    {
    
    case 1: printf("%d",i);
    break;
    case 2: printf("%d",i);
    break;
    default : printf("Invalid entry");
    }
    getch();
    }
     

Share This Page