1. We have moved from vBulletin to XenForo and you are viewing the site in the middle of the move. Though the functional aspect of everything is working fine, we are still working on other changes including the new design on Xenforo.
    Dismiss Notice

Service Unavailable Error Message When You Browse a Web Site

Discussion in 'ASP' started by shabbir, Jan 2, 2006.

  1. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    When you configure your IIS webserver and find the following message

    Service Unavailable

    Then the first solution to the above error is http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?id=823552 but if this does not solve the problem try doing the following stuff.

    Open the IIS Manager, right click Web Sites and select properties:

    [​IMG]

    Switch to the Service Tab

    [​IMG]

    Check "Run WWW Service in IIS 5.0 Isolation Mode".

    You will be asked for Restart of IIS. Click yes to restart IIS. If you are not asked just restart IIS.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2006
  2. cowboy3398

    cowboy3398 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This solved my problem which occurred after installing VM Server. My question is what does isolation mode really do and why did it fix the problem?
     
  3. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    As suggested by Microsoft
     
  4. kalees

    kalees New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am getting the service unavilable error in the interval of 3 to 6 months. the application is created using asp and oracle.
    i can see the following error in the event log.

    Error:

    Application pool 'application name' is being automatically disabled due to a series of failures in the process(es) serving that application pool.

    can anyone tell me where is the problem? my application side or iis6 server side?
     
  5. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Can you clarify what you meant by 3 to 6 months.
     
  6. kalees

    kalees New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi shabbir,

    Thanks for the reply,

    i was getting that error before 6 months. after that i am getting the same error now


    Regards,
    Kalees
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2006
  7. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
  8. kalees

    kalees New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi shabbir,

    Thanks for the valuable reply,

    According to that article, we have to install debugger for find out the error that will happen in the next time. I can understand, but my question is whether my application may cause this error or not? if it is so then i have to check my asp pages for infinite loop,syntax errors..etc.But it is a very standard application and running for more than 4 years without problems.
    Please kindly guide me.

    Regards,
    Kalees
     
  9. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    The cause of the errors cannot be from the program. It just the problem from the installation or configuration point.
     
  10. kalees

    kalees New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2006
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    many thanks
     
  11. Winged_Human

    Winged_Human New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After reading your thread, I have done what it is requested, and Now I am getting an "The requested resource is in use" error. this is after I turned off Friendly error messages in IE. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks
     
  12. u170who

    u170who New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello Shabbir, First off, nice forum, thanks for the resources. 2nd, i think the article that would work better for someone setting up a IIS server for the first time would be this. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/842493 , however, even after i tried what they suggested, i realized that the problem was that i had not logged onto the domain, and instead onto the local machine. The installation of IIS did not create permissions for the domain group IIS_WPG and Network Services. BUT, creating these permissions did not resolve the problem for me. I am sure there are other things that were not configured correctly also, so instead, i just uninstalled IIS, logged onto the domain, and then reinstalled. Now is all beautiful. Thanks, i just thought this info might be useful.
     
  13. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    That would definitely be of great help and welcome to the g4ef forum.
     
  14. lovein

    lovein New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This comes when a server script falls under infinite loop and without any result.

    We have to re-start the IIS application pool, which will solve the error.

    We have to correct the script which was causing the error than to point at the fault of IIS.

    Thanks
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 1, 2007
  15. urteddy

    urteddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am getting the same error ' Service Unavailable '
    But i tried searching for my IIS manager I am not able to find it in my computer
    I am not even having Administrative tools from start

    Kindly help.










     
  16. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    is IIS Installed on your PC
     
  17. urteddy

    urteddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am not sure whether IIS is installed but I am not able to find IIS even when i search.

    Kindly advice
     
  18. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Try installing it first using the Windows CD.
     
  19. urteddy

    urteddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have installed IIS manager 6 from windows CD.

    Kindly advice
     
  20. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,276
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Now are you still getting the error.
     

Share This Page