1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How To Reset Screen resolution [Windows 7]

Discussion in 'Windows' started by lionaneesh, Dec 23, 2010.

  1. lionaneesh

    lionaneesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    India
    Yesterday Night while working on my site...After finishing my main site style-sheet [main.css]

    I wanted to test this with a higher resolution...

    And This was it....

    As I changed my screen resolution to somewhat larger...The screen got blank.... LL

    I was so pissed and tired that I panicked and pressed ‘enter’ couple of times and then after few seconds I hard rebooted my system...

    When the system was rebooting ...I was shocked that there was no change on my screen

    Just a message on my monitor ‘invalid signal’...

    After some time I came to know that there was a way to select the advanced booting options in windows and I was sure that windows had some provision for my problem there...

    Solution 1



    When system starts booting Press F8 [repeating] ....After few seconds We’ll get a Advanced System Boot options including the ‘Enable low Resosution’

    I was exited seeing this and then I selected this...

    My windows 7 logo appears....

    After logging in the logging screen the screen goes blank again...

    I remembered that the lowest screen resolution supported by my monitor is 800*600

    So this failed...

    So here comes

    Solution 2



    After getting fed up with felling on no way out...

    I thought that the only method for the restoration of my display was to do it manually by only using key strokes...

    [Yes this method is kinda very non Elegant but There was no other way out]

    I switched on my laptop and noticed how to go to the screen resolution window by just using key strokes...

    Here are the keystokes:-
    Code:
      start
      tab
      [lower key] 6 times
      Enter
      Tab
      [lower key ] 7 times
      Enter
      [tab] 2 times
      Enter
      (Then by using up or down chose the screen resolution you want In my case 1280*768 From 1280*600)
      [Upkey] 2 times
      Enter
      [tab] 5 times
      Enter
      

    Conclusion



    And yeepi I got my display back...
    Bye guyz and back to work...
     
  2. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,285
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Re: How To reset your Screen resolution [Windows 7]

    The reason why many people hate Windows. :)
     
  3. lionaneesh

    lionaneesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    India
    Certainly True....

    Thats Why i do all my C , C++ , Python coding on UBUNTU...
    But Web Designing...
    I do it on windows i dont know for what reason but i feel comfortable...
     
  4. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,285
    Likes Received:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Your solution will also work if don't have the monitor working :ihih:
     
  5. lionaneesh

    lionaneesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    India
  6. pankaj.sea

    pankaj.sea New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Web Developer
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Home Page:
    U can get back your screen using this method:
    before windows booting press F8 -> Enable VGA Mode
    Now set your resolution to a correct stage (say 1024x768 etc.) and restart your PC!

    This process works for all version of Windows!
    :D :D
     
  7. lionaneesh

    lionaneesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    India
    No it doesnt....
    I mentioned this method in my solution 1.
    It din't worked for me and i have also explained why...

    And By the Way....

    Enable VGA Mode is only for Win xp...
    In win 7 its "Enable low resolution" .....
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2010
  8. nimesh

    nimesh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Oracle Apps Admin
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Home Page:
    Or plugging in another monitor should also work [which supports the new resolution]

    Along with the keystrokes, also mention the menu that you reach, because everyone will not have the same menu sequence

    pressing "start -> tab -> [lower key] 6 times" I reached Logoff button :(
     
  9. lionaneesh

    lionaneesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    India
    Yes I understand...
    But What about if i don't have an extra monitor...
    BTW The keystrokes i mentioned will work on a win7 Ultimate x86 version MACHINE...
    Others Which have different versions of windows can submit the keystrokes in the comment and I can add those in my Article....
     
  10. nimesh

    nimesh New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Messages:
    770
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Oracle Apps Admin
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Home Page:
    I think you don't know about customizing start menu.

    The keystrokes that you mentioned would work on all win7 versions, if you haven't customized the start menu. In my case I did so I got it wrong.
     
  11. lionaneesh

    lionaneesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    India
    Sorry dint read ur comment fully...
    But yes...
    Thats right...
     
  12. pakeeza1990

    pakeeza1990 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    IT consultant
    Location:
    islamabad pakistan
    Home Page:
    you can also get your desire setting by installing the default setting through your desktop ...
    and i think it is very easy step
     
  13. lionaneesh

    lionaneesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    India
    Sorry but can't get you!!!!
     
  14. LoveR_PoinT

    LoveR_PoinT New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nice...................
     
  15. alexsmth114

    alexsmth114 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    (Certainly True....

    Thats Why i do all my C , C++ , Python coding on UBUNTU...
    But Web Designing...
    I do it on windows i dont know for what reason but i feel comfortable... ) Well said bro, I agree with you!!..
     
  16. lionaneesh

    lionaneesh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    224
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Occupation:
    Student
    Location:
    India
    Thanks...

    Note : Use QUOTE tags to quote text..
     
  17. VPSWebServer.

    VPSWebServer. New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    NA
    Location:
    US
    Yeah, Windows surely has bugs, which get fixed by them in updates usually.
     
  18. jack0050

    jack0050 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    employee
    Location:
    usa
    Home Page:
    thanks for sharing this nice info.
     

Share This Page