Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Web Design, HTML And CSS Forums (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/web-design-forum/)
-   -   Problem with update statement. (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/update-statement-t9098/)

Mastakays 29Feb2008 15:39

Problem with update statement.
 
Hello there guys.

I have a problem with my update statement onto the database.
I have a site that works fine on my local host and on the server but now Ive jus posted, the "working site" onto the ftp folder of the company that hosts if for us.But I have found that it doesn't work coz of the read/write permissions onto the database.How can I solve this coz I have granted read/write permissions in the database properties.

But I keep getting this error when I try to login.:Error # -2147467259 Operation must use an updateable query.
SQL = UPDATE tbl_employees SET lastlogin = #29-Feb-2008# WHERE employeelogin = 'SIPHOSIBUYANE'

Here is my asp code:
Code:

<!--
'*******************************************************************************************

'********************************************************************************************
-->
<!--#include file="SiteSQL.asp"-->
<%
'** CONNECTION STRING
'Dim conn
'strConn = DB_CONNECTIONSTRING       
'set conn=server.createobject("adodb.connection")
'conn.Open strConn
'conn.Mode = 3
Dim conn, ConnectString
ConnectString = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source=" & Server.Mappath("data/intranet.mdb") & ";Persist Security Info=False"
Set conn = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection")
conn.open ConnectString
%>
<%
Private function RunSQL(ByVal sql,ByRef myRS)
        'Response.Write sql & "<BR>"
        On Error Resume Next
        if lcase(left(trim(sql),6)) = "select" then
                        set myRS = server.CreateObject("adodb.recordset")
                        myRS.open sql,conn,3,3
        else
                select case lcase(left(trim(sql),6))
                        case "update", "delete"
                                if instr(lcase(sql),"where") = 0 then
                                        response.write "Dork, you tried to run a "& lcase(left(trim(sql),6)) &" query without the where clause!"
                                        boolDoNotRunQuery = true
                                        response.end
                                end if
                end select
                if boolDoNotRunQuery <> true then
                        set myRS = conn.Execute(sql)
                end if
        end if
        if err.number <> 0 then
                Response.Clear
                Response.Write "Error Occured:<BR><BR>"
                Response.Write "Error # " & CStr(Err.Number) & " " & Err.Description & "<BR>"
                Response.Write "SQL = " & sql & "<BR>"       
                Response.End
        End if
        On Error Goto 0       
end Function

Private function DoSQL(ByVal sql)
        'Response.write sql & "<BR>"
        On Error Resume Next
        boolDoNotRunQuery = FALSE
        actionWord = left(trim(sql),6)
        select case lcase(actionWord)
                case "update", "delete"
                        if instr(lcase(sql),"where") = 0 then
                                response.write "Dork, you tried to run a "& lcase(left(trim(sql),6)) &" query without the where clause!"
                                boolDoNotRunQuery = true
                                response.end
                        end if
        end select
        if boolDoNotRunQuery <> true then
                conn.Execute(sql)
        end if
        if err.number <> 0 then
                Response.Clear
                Response.Write "Error Occured:<BR><BR>"
                Response.Write "Error # " & CStr(Err.Number) & " " & Err.Description & "<BR>"
                Response.Write "SQL = " & sql & "<BR>"       
                Response.End
        End if
        On Error Goto 0       
end Function

Im better with asp.net, so even if someone can help me remove the update statement or help me fix this problem.

venkatesanj@hcl.in 4Mar2008 08:38

Re: Problem with update statement.
 
Create a stored procedure with update statement in it.

You can send the arguments to the stored procedure and execute it from the front end

Regards,
Venkatesan Prabu. J


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 10:35.