Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Visual Basic ( VB ) (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/visual-basic/)
-   -   how do you connect to a microsoft databse using vb (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/connect-microsoft-databse-using-vb-t8105/)

bymbah 4Jan2008 15:29

how do you connect to a microsoft databse using vb
 
can anyone help with information on how you can use visual basic to connect to a ms db for the purposes of retrieving and storing data to tables in a ms db.i think that any one who can post sample code will help around the problem

KiLLER 2Mar2008 21:18

Re: how do you connect to a microsoft databse using vb
 
If you are using VB.NET then

Code:

Imports System.Data.OleDb
Public Class Form1
    Dim da As OleDbDataAdapter
    Dim ds As New DataSet
    Dim con As New OleDb.OleDbConnection("Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source =C:\db1.mdb;") 'you can edit the source as you like....

    Private Sub Form1_Load(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.EventArgs) Handles MyBase.Load

        da = New OleDbDataAdapter("Select * from student", con) 'student is table's name

        con.Open()
        da.Fill(ds, "student")
    End Sub
    'This is basic, i would advise you to read books for more or Google it.

If you are using VB6 then it different method for this. You will need to add Reference manually to the Project and it's called ADODB

Code:

    Public con As New ADODB.Connection 'Database connection string
    Public rsMain As New ADODB.Recordset 'Database record set
   
    Private Sub ConnectToDB
        con.Open ("Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;Data Source="C:\db1.mdb")
        rsMain.Open "Select * from Table1", con, OpenDynamic, LockOptimistic
        'Now you can use rsMain to retrieve and add data to your database
    End Sub

It seems like you have never done this before so I would advice you to read books and gain knowledge on how Databases work, as it'll be very helpful in future. And don't forget GOOGLE. :)

bymbah 14Apr2008 17:03

Re: how do you connect to a microsoft databse using vb
 
Thanx for your contribution kiLLER.

Darkness1337 9Jun2008 05:04

Re: how do you connect to a microsoft databse using vb
 
you can also use Data Control :]


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 15:39.