Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Gadget Analysis (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/gadgets/)
-   -   hard drive prob (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/hard-drive-prob-t6632/)

DISTRININICE 1Oct2007 01:50

hard drive prob
 
hv 2 drives on my comp but i only c one on my screen.yet still i c both of them on my device manager what can i do to c the other

shabbir 1Oct2007 04:42

Re: hard drive prob
 
What do you mean by see in my screen? Do you mean to say in the My Computer? If that is the case try formatting the other one to the file system supported by your OS and that should allow the OS to recognize the other one as well.

turkeythigh 6Feb2008 22:13

Re: hard drive prob
 
go in to device maneger

click on disk manegment
you should now see a list of drives on your computer. with visual representations of their capacity.

rightclick on the drive that isnt working proporly.
click format. it will ask you if you want to format it to NTFS, FAT, or FAT32. depending on what windows you are running.

oogabooga 6Feb2008 23:29

Re: hard drive prob
 
It won't show up until it's formatted.
This is of course assuming it's a new (empty) drive!

turkeythigh 7Feb2008 01:09

Re: hard drive prob
 
yeah it will also work if the drive is formated for say Linux or Mac.
it happens to me all the time cause im always switching my drives arround from linux to windows. and sometimes it will just get stupid ( it is a microsoft product) and youll have to format it anyway.

germanboy104 27Oct2008 21:20

Re: hard drive prob
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by oogabooga
It won't show up until it's formatted.
This is of course assuming it's a new (empty) drive!

true true.....but, depending on the configuration, could the hard drives be mirrored? some older dell systems have a copy hard drive that mirrors the other.......u could re-image the mimic drive if u want.......do somethin fun like run a linux OS on the other drive
:nice:

neo_vi 28Oct2008 14:57

Re: hard drive prob
 
mirror option is available in Linux. use gparted to format ur drive in linux and use the option copy partition. Or in windows there are software available to copy the partition table. By these ways u can do it.

germanboy104 28Oct2008 17:41

Re: hard drive prob
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DISTRININICE
hv 2 drives on my comp but i only c one on my screen.yet still i c both of them on my device manager what can i do to c the other

well he cannot see one on the device manager, check the bios as mirrored hard drives will probably show up there.
and windows supports mirrored drives 2, one is simply a copy of all the data on the other.


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 04:28.