Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   PHP (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/php/)
-   -   Sum of table rows will appear in a textfield (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/sum-table-rows-appear-textfield-t24163/)

newphpcoder 13Dec2010 15:13

Sum of table rows will appear in a textfield
 
1 Attachment(s)
Good day!
I have a problem in adding codes in my php codes, but i have the concept of codes that i want to add in my php codes, but I don't know if it is right. Kindly check my codes thank you.
I attached my whole codes for better understanding
and here is the codes I want to add:
Code:

<?php
  if($_POST["clt_no"])
    {
    $query = "SELECT * FROM clt_transact WHERE  clt_no = '" . $_POST . "'";
    $result_no = mysql_query($query);
        if($result_no)
            {
            if(mysql_num_rows($result_no) > 0 )
            $operation2_input = 0;
           
            $query = "SELECT SUM(t.input_qty) AS operation_input FROM clt_traceability t, clt_transact p WHERE t.clt_transact_id = p.clt_transact_id AND t.operation_name 'Operation2' AND p.clt_no='" . $_POST["clt_no"] . "'";
            $resultyield = mysql_query($query);
            if($resultyield)
                {
                    if(mysql_num_rows($resultyield) > 0)$operation2_input =mysql_result($resultyield,0,"operation2_input");
                }
              $operation2_total = $operation2_input;
            }
    }
?>

I want to happen is all the input qty that the user insert in input qty textfield will sum and the result will appear in operation2_total in input_qty textfield.
I don't know how thus the result should be appear automatically in the input qty of operation2_total and if my code is correct.
Thank you

newphpcoder 15Dec2010 11:58

Re: Sum of input will appear in a textfield
 
1 Attachment(s)
I have 5 operation name: operation1, operation2, operation2_total, operation3,operation4,operation5. As you notice I have a operation2_total

How can I add the input qty of operation2 and the result will be appearing in input_qty of operation2_total.

Thank you

pein87 30Dec2010 02:31

Re: Sum of table rows will appear in a textfield
 
If you want the sum use the sum sql function

SELECT SUM(COLUM_NAME_HERE) FROM table_name_here WHERE condition = 'some_condition_here'

Check this picture example for getting the sum take note I'm using Microsoft SQL Server 2008 not MySQL.
http://img52.imageshack.us/img52/5591/exmpcurr.jpg

Also in your query your using the super global POST without getting a single value instead you'll get the entire array. You need to say a direct key like
PHP Code:

$_POST['cloth_typ'

instead of $_POST. Also define variables to hold the contents of the desired POST values and if your using them as an array in the html (<input type="text" name = "inqty[]" />) use foreach instead of for because for is a count loop and associative arrays are slower in process time when you use a for loop. Lastly using * in your query returns all the values only use the values you actually need to decrease database retrieval load(getting the data you want). Also use this

PHP Code:

$myUrlVar $_POST[do];

if(
$myUrlVar)
{

swicth($myUrlVar)
{

case 
"submit":
//code to run
break;
case 
"showtotal":
//code to run
break;
default:
//no value is set trigger error and show default page
break;

}




Also use for the total number or rows in the database

Code:

SELECT COUNT(*) FROM table_name_here WHERE condition = 'some_condition_here'


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:34.