Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   C (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/c/)
-   -   incremental multiplication problem (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/incremental-multiplication-problem-t23943/)

crazyNut 21Nov2010 12:06

incremental multiplication problem

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner of C and am stuck on a problem like below

int i=3, j, k;
j = i++*i++;
k = ++i*++i;
print ("j=%d k=%d", j, k);

As per my calculations the values should be j=12 and k=42 but the value of the code turns out to be j=9 and k=49. I don't understand why it happens. Can anyone explain the reason.

Thanks for any Help

ihatec 21Nov2010 19:29

Re: incremental multiplication problem

Just play a bit with operators and you will find out how to use to obtain correct result.

jimblumberg 21Nov2010 19:58

This link should help to explain the results. Sequence_point.

Jim

crazyNut 21Nov2010 20:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by ihatec (Post 75022)
Just play a bit with operators and you will find out how to use to obtain correct result.

Is it something like in case of i++
the compiler first evaluates the expression
j = i++*i++
and then increments i 2 times in a row
and opposite for ++i
means there it first increments i 2 times in a row and then evaluates the exp k = ++i*++i

Thanks

crazyNut 21Nov2010 20:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by jimblumberg (Post 75024)
This link should help to explain the results. Sequence_pionts

Jim

The link was very useful.
It contains some good points.

Thanks

xpi0t0s 22Nov2010 13:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by crazyNut (Post 75028)
Is it something like in case of i++
the compiler first evaluates the expression
j = i++*i++
and then increments i 2 times in a row
and opposite for ++i
means there it first increments i 2 times in a row and then evaluates the exp k = ++i*++i
Thanks