Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   C# (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/c-sharp/)
-   -   Taking input (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/taking-input-t23405/)

maher 24Sep2010 13:52

Taking input
 
HEY im trying to take input from textbox and then i want to run a query in query in want to search that value
suppose my textbox name is txtInput.text
n query which i want to run


Code:

string connectionString = "Data Source =USER-PC\\SQLEXPRESS1;Initial Catalog=inFlowInventory; Integrated Security=SSPI";
            using (SqlConnection testConnection = new SqlConnection(connectionString))
            {
                SqlCommand testCommand =
                    new SqlCommand("SELECT customer FROM Customer where customer =txtInput.Text", testConnection);
               
                testConnection.Open();
                SqlDataReader sqlDr =testCommand.ExecuteReader(CommandBehavior.CloseConnection);
                if (sqlDr.HasRows)
                {
                    foreach (DbDataRecord rec in sqlDr)
                    {
                        dbRecordHolder.Add(rec);
                     
                    }
                }
                CustomerNameGrid.DataSource = dbRecordHolder;
              }


maher 27Sep2010 14:17

Re: Taking input
 
lol
wat happn no1 knw dat?? :P

dotNet Zombie 30Sep2010 02:41

Re: Taking input
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by maher (Post 73162)
lol
wat happn no1 knw dat?? :P

LOL actually the .Net Zombie was busy with work.
Try setting up Parameters like this..
Code:

SqlCommand testCommand =new SqlCommand("SELECT customer FROM Customer where customer =@testCust", testConnection);

testCommand.Parameters.AddWithValue("@testCust",txtInput.Text);


maher 30Sep2010 19:12

Re: Taking input
 
Can u tel me 1 more thng i want to use Datagrid view as a Input of data n use of some qurey
supose table column are item, descrptn, price, quantity
i want to add 1 more Column which wil do da calculation lyke Total column which wrk iz to calculate da value in Run Tyme price*quantity as Total
how can i perform that during insert query tyme

dotNet Zombie 1Oct2010 21:59

Re: Taking input
 
Code:

gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Calc"].Value=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Price"].Value)*Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Quantity"].Value);
to make the calculation on the grid itself, the rowIndex is the variable i made up to represent the selectedIndex of the row. (CurrentRow.Index)

then during query time you can add gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Calc"].Value as a parameters.

or you can

Code:

int Price=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Price"].Value)
int Quality=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Quantity"].Value);

and add the parameter like this

Code:


SQLCommand insertCommand=new SqlCommand("INSERT INTO tblTable(Total) VALUES(@Total)",sqlConn);
insertCommand.Paramaters.AddWithValue("@Total",Price*Quality);


maher 2Oct2010 00:42

Re: Taking input
 
sorry em nt dat much expert can u do it easily or gve me complete codding if u can :(

maher 2Oct2010 14:51

Re: Taking input
 
thr is error showing in rowIndex

dotNet Zombie 6Oct2010 20:10

Re: Taking input
 
rowIndex is a local variable which stores the GridView Controls property CurrentRow.Index.


*sorry for taking a while to respond, have been busy*

maher 6Oct2010 21:42

Re: Taking input
 
thnx but can u merge awl thg
n can u do it awl combine wid example

dotNet Zombie 6Oct2010 22:40

Re: Taking input
 
Code:

int rowIndex=gridView.CurrentRow.Index;
int Price=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Price"].Value)
int Quality=Convert.ToInt32(gridView.Rows[rowIndex].Cells["Quantity"].Value);

SQLCommand insertCommand=new SqlCommand("INSERT INTO tblTable(Total) VALUES(@Total)",sqlConn);
insertCommand.Paramaters.AddWithValue("@Total",Price*Quality);

insertCommand.Conn.Open();
insertCommand.ExecuteNonReader();
insertCommand.Conn.Close();



All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:43.