Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Web Design, HTML And CSS Forums (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/web-design-forum/)
-   -   Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/gap-page-chrome-fine-ff-ie-t23109/)

hgolov 27Aug2010 00:01

Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
HI,
I have been asked to make css changes to an existing site. At one point we noticed that one page has a large vertical gap between the header and the main content, ONLY in chrome - it looks fine in ie7, ie8, and ff.
Does anyone have any ideas how to solve this?

shabbir 27Aug2010 08:32

Re: Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
Unless you can show us it would not be possible to suggest anything on the same.

hgolov 27Aug2010 10:34

Re: Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
Thanks -
diettv DOT com SLASH register DOT php

shabbir 27Aug2010 13:40

Re: Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
Try to move the style element just after the form in the header and see if it is taking the space.

hgolov 27Aug2010 14:33

Re: Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
Thanks for your help. This didn't work. Any other ideas?

ManzZup 30Aug2010 22:00

Re: Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
err really confusing but cna you post the code for the main style?

hgolov 30Aug2010 22:45

Re: Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
There is a ton of css here - the style sheet is over 5000 lines!
The content div has the following css:
Code:

#content {
margin:0 auto;
overflow:hidden;
padding-bottom:56px;
padding-top:12px;
width:100%;
}

The header div
Code:

#header  {
height:145px;
margin:0 auto;
position:relative;
width:100%;
}

The last div in the header, just above the content div:
Code:

#header .header_box {
color:#FFFFFF;
font-size:17px;
height:36px;
left:0;
line-height:35px;
overflow:hidden;
position:absolute;
top:106px;
width:100%;
}

and the first div inside the content is:
Code:

sign_up  {
float:left;
padding-left:20px;
padding-right:10px;
width:647px;
}

Any ideas? Thank you so much for your time.

ManzZup 31Aug2010 09:30

Re: Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
not sure but juz try t=chagin the top: values (sometime chrome get it wrong)
n juz dont use posotion:absolute too mch
i5s gonna mess thngs up later

hgolov 31Aug2010 12:38

Re: Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
Thanks for your reply. I'm afraid that if I change the values for top, it will get messed up in other browsers. Do you have any other ideas

shabbir 31Aug2010 13:33

Re: Gap in page in Chrome, fine in FF and IE
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by hgolov (Post 72156)
Thanks for your reply. I'm afraid that if I change the values for top, it will get messed up in other browsers. Do you have any other ideas

May or may not and so try testing it.


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 21:36.