Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Java (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/java/)
-   -   Filtering dropdown list (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/filtering-dropdown-list-t21488/)

dinox 24Mar2010 13:46

Filtering dropdown list
 
Hi there,

I've a question about dropdown list. How to get the filtered list (in dropdown) from database? Let's say there are 2 dropdowns. Second dropdown result list will depend on what has been chosen in the First dropdown. Example, if I choose America (in 1st dropdown), then the 2nd dropdown list will show ONLY states in America. I've didn't have problem with this. The problem is when the page (that consists these dropdowns) is loaded. For more clear view, here an example. I choose America (in 1st dropdown), then in the 2nd dropdown I choose Alaska (which is one of the state in America). I save this data in database. After that, I reload the page and found the same data as I inserted. When I try to select another state, says Washington, it list all the state in the world not only in America. I need to select another country first, and then reselect America, after that the list consist only states of America. Any ideas how to make it better? Fyi, the list is from database, not in any jsp.

Any help would been appreciated...:(

virxen 25Mar2010 01:53

Re: Filtering dropdown list
 
first of all post the database here

your post is in java thread ,you want an answer in java?
if so ,where is your code so far?

dinox 25Mar2010 07:53

Re: Filtering dropdown list
 
Here are the list

1. 1st Dropdown
Code:

    COUNTRY_ID  COUNTRY
    01                  AMERICA
    02                  AUSTRALIA
    03                  BELGIUM
    04                  LUXEMBOURG
    05                  RUSSIA

2. 2nd Dropdown
Code:

    COUNTRY_ID  STATE_ID      STATE
    01                  0101              ALASKA
    01                  0102              WASHINGTON
    01                  0103              TEXAS
    02                  0201              VICTORIA
    02                  0202              QUEENSLAND
    03                  0301              WEST-VLAANDEREN    03                  0302              ANTWERPEN
    04                  0401              LUXEMBOURG
    05                  0501              MOSCOW
    05                  0502              ST. PETERSBURG

and here's the coding (javascipt)
Code:

<h:panelGroup>
      <h:selectOneMenu id="country" required="true" value="#{world.country}">
            <f:selectItem itemLabel="#{msgreg['registration.new.choose']}" itemValue="" />
                                                                    <f:selectItems value="#{listCountry.all}" id="a4" />
                                                                    <t:jsValueChangeListener for="District"
                                                                        expressionValue="updateDropDown($srcElem, $destElem, '#{world.state}', 'list_state');" />
                                                                </h:selectOneMenu>
                                                                <h:outputText value="&nbsp" escape="false" />
                                                                <h:outputText value="*" styleClass="formnotes" />
                                                            </h:panelGroup>

                                                            <h:panelGroup>
                                                                <h:selectOneMenu id="State" required="true"
                                                                    value="#{world.state}">
                                                                    <f:selectItem
                                                                        itemLabel="#{msgreg['registration.new.choose']}"
                                                                        itemValue="" />
                                                                    <f:selectItems value="#{listStateNew.allState}" />
                                                                </h:selectOneMenu>
                                                                <h:outputText value="&nbsp" escape="false" />
                                                                <h:outputText value="*" styleClass="formnotes" />
                                                            </h:panelGroup>

function updateDropDown(parent, child, chosen, basicArrayName)
{
    var value;
    var arrayItem;
    var arrayName;
    var instruction;
    if (parent == null) return;
    if (child == null) return;
    value = parent.value;
    arrayName = "";
    arrayName = arrayName + basicArrayName;
    arrayName = arrayName + "_";
    if (value == '')
    {
        //empty array
        arrayItem = new Array();
    }
    else
    {
        arrayName = arrayName + value;
        instruction = "arrayItem = " + arrayName;
        eval(instruction);
    }
    if (chosen == '')
    {
        chosen = child.value;
    }
    loadItem(arrayItem, child, chosen);
}

function loadItem(arrayItem, control, value)
{
    var itemLength;
    var lastItem;
    itemLength = arrayItem.length;

    while (itemLength < control.options.length) {
        lastItem = control.options.length - 1;
        control.options[lastItem] = null;
    }
    control.options[0] = new Option('-', '');
    var foundLocation = 0;
    for (var i = 0; i < itemLength; i++) {
        var opt = eval("new Option" + arrayItem[i]);
        if (opt.value == value) {
            foundLocation = i+1;
        }
        control.options[i+1] = opt;
    }
    control.selectedIndex = foundLocation;
}



All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:38.