Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   $1 Daily Competition (http://www.go4expert.com/contests/daily-competition/)
-   -   Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010 (http://www.go4expert.com/contests/network-expert-jan-18-2010-t20688/)

techgeek.in 17Jan2010 19:17

Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
You're working the help desk and get a call that a user can't access the UNIX host at 150.150.32.157. You are on the same subnet as the user and the UNIX host, and try to ping the UNIX host. You can successfully do so. You can also ping the user's workstation. when you ask the user to enter ping 150.150.32.157, all they get is a series of Destination Unreachable messages. What is the problem? What should you do to solve the user's problem? :dead: (note:- the problem seems to be very funny..how such problem can exist? Everything seems to be correct but still the workstation cannot ping 150.150.32.157)

shabbir 18Jan2010 15:46

Re: Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
Approved.

techgeek.in 18Jan2010 20:24

Re: Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
Make a small correctn..In the middle of the questn ip address is written 150.150.31.157..Actually it will be 150.150.32.157 throughout..The mistake is implicit i thnk..

shabbir 18Jan2010 20:35

Re: Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
Corrected that :D

venami 19Jan2010 08:01

Re: Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
The host 150.150.32.157 may be dropping all the ICMP requests from the machine from which you are ping-ing. To solve this problem, remove that firewall setting in the host so that your machine can ping the host.

neo_vi 19Jan2010 09:27

Re: Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
I think it is a gateway problem. The user's machine doesn't have the default gateway set in his PC. to resolve this add the default gateway. In GNU/Linux the command wil be
route add default gw <ip> <interface>

techgeek.in 19Jan2010 10:30

Re: Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by venami (Post 63099)
The host 150.150.32.157 may be dropping all the ICMP requests from the machine from which you are ping-ing. To solve this problem, remove that firewall setting in the host so that your machine can ping the host.


If the host is dropping the the ICMP packets then how the help desk is able to ping the host?? :thinking:

techgeek.in 19Jan2010 10:33

Re: Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by neo_vi (Post 63100)
I think it is a gateway problem. The user's machine doesn't have the default gateway set in his PC. to resolve this add the default gateway. In GNU/Linux the command wil be
route add default gw <ip> <interface>

If there is a gateway problem then how the help desk is getting reply from the workstation on ping-ing the workstation of the user??:crazy:

techgeek.in 19Jan2010 10:34

Re: Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by neo_vi (Post 63100)
I think it is a gateway problem. The user's machine doesn't have the default gateway set in his PC. to resolve this add the default gateway. In GNU/Linux the command wil be
route add default gw <ip> <interface>

is there any concept of gateway in a subnet??? :surprised

venami 19Jan2010 16:26

Re: Are you a network expert?? | Jan. 18, 2010
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by techgeek.in (Post 63104)
If the host is dropping the the ICMP packets then how the help desk is able to ping the host?? :thinking:

We can drop all the ICMP requests that comes from a particular IP address using the firewall settings. So there is a possibility of the host dropping the ICMP requests from the pinging machine and responding to other machines.


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:27.