Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   C (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/c/)
-   -   Platform SDK & VS 2008 in XP (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/platform-sdk-vs-2008-xp-t20202/)

sunshineaks 26Nov2009 11:20

Platform SDK & VS 2008 in XP
 
I am trying to code a program in C++ to capture images from multiple web cams simultaneously and save them automatically with minimum delay. I also want the program to be able to alter the properties of the webcam when required. I was thinking I could use the samples on Platform SDK (directshow – AMCap) but I haven’t been able to build them. When I tried to build them using the C++ compiler, I kept getting errors like syntax errors and missing header file. I am using visual studio 2008 on XP (O.S). Can you please tell me what I have to do after installing Platform SDK and Visual C++ compiler? I would also appreciate other suggestions. Thanks in advance!

Gene Poole 27Nov2009 22:23

Re: Platform SDK & VS 2008 in XP
 
Have you installed the DirectX SDK?

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...playlang=en#dx

sunshineaks 28Nov2009 09:54

Re: Platform SDK & VS 2008 in XP
 
yes i did... which version do u suggest i use?

Gene Poole 28Nov2009 22:35

Re: Platform SDK & VS 2008 in XP
 
I don't have any idea. I just noticed that you were using a DirectX API call and thought that not having the SDK installed might be the source of your errors.

sunshineaks 29Nov2009 20:27

Re: Platform SDK & VS 2008 in XP
 
can u plz tell me what exactly i should be doing ( attaching library files, defining the path) after installing vs cpp compiler and platform SDK, because i am not sure if i am doing it the right way... thanks in advance !

Gene Poole 30Nov2009 03:29

Re: Platform SDK & VS 2008 in XP
 
I'm sorry, but I really have no idea. I've never done any DirectX stuff nor messed with any of the platform SDK samples. I merely noticed in your original post that you were using a DirectX API call but didn't mention whether you had installed the DirectX SDK or not. Lack of the DirectX SDK would certainly cause errors like you describe.


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 08:48.