Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Oracle (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/oracle-forum/)
-   -   Error connecting 10g with vb6 in vista? (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/error-connecting-10g-vb6-vista-t19548/)

mayjune 25Sep2009 01:06

Error connecting 10g with vb6 in vista?
 
Hi,
I am using oracle 10g and vb 6 on vista. When i try connecting it i get this
Error = -2147467259 (80004005)
Error string: [Microsoft][ODBC Driver Manager] Driver's SQLAllocHandle on SQL_HANDLE_ENV failed

It works the first time till i don't restart the comp, then if i repair or reinstall it works till I don't restart the computer again. The same problem i faced on other comp which has windows 7. It sounds like maybe vista/7 has some problem, but I know people who are using same config and vista and it works for them without any problem. I don't know how to fix this problem. Please help...

nimesh 25Sep2009 14:37

Re: Error connecting 10g with vb6 in vista?
 
What ODBC driver are you using?

and this does not seem to be a vista/7 issue, but a permission issue

nimesh 25Sep2009 14:45

Re: Error connecting 10g with vb6 in vista?
 
Check if this helps:
http://www.orafaq.com/forum/t/38079/2/

mayjune 25Sep2009 15:04

Re: Error connecting 10g with vb6 in vista?
 
how do i check which odbc drivers is it?

this is what the code is like

Code:

Dim ado As ADODB.Connection

Private Sub Form_Load()
    Set ado = New ADODB.Connection
    ado.ConnectionString = "Provider=MSDASQL.1;Password=ppp;Persist Security Info=True;User ID=aaa;Data Source=xxx"
    ado.Open
end sub


nimesh 25Sep2009 15:23

Re: Error connecting 10g with vb6 in vista?
 
Have you configured the DSN?

Data Source=xxx

xxx - this is the dsn name

mayjune 25Sep2009 17:00

Re: Error connecting 10g with vb6 in vista?
 
Hey I got it!!
Vista/7 is really annoying with its "security" thing!!
Just goto Vb6.exe file (the main file which runs the vb6)
If you don't know how to find it
goto start and goto visual basic 6
right click and select properties -> open file location
when you can see the exe file
right click, goto compatibility -> run as administrator -> ok
run it and it will work flawlessly.... :)

Thanks the link you gave me the idea, they gave something different but it clicked me as this i had done for 3d studio max 9 and it worked!

:D Yeaaa

nimesh 25Sep2009 18:56

Re: Error connecting 10g with vb6 in vista?
 
thanks :D


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 23:14.