Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Windows (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/windows-forum/)
-   -   'Search' show up on double-click (open directory) (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/search-double-click-directory-t19171/)

kiddo 25Aug2009 22:56

'Search' show up on double-click (open directory)
 
hi, I got this strange problem recently.
when I double-click or want to open a folder,
the 'Search' will show up,
so I must use 'Explore' to access a folder.
Is it virus?
how to handle it?

I use Windows XP.

help me pliz!

naimish 26Aug2009 08:59

Re: 'Search' show up on double-click (open directory)
 
Yes, this is a virus, but you need to check which Antivirus System clears it.

neo_vi 26Aug2009 16:27

Re: 'Search' show up on double-click (open directory)
 
Its of course a virus. try restoring ur system in safe mode. if it doesn't work out install any AV's to clear it.

pankaj.sea 26Aug2009 17:43

Re: 'Search' show up on double-click (open directory)
 
hi kiddo!
what problem u r facing moths ago I've faced same thing!
fact is that the problem is made by virus sure but its unrecoverable even u repair win xp after deleting the virus by any using any AV!
So I personally suggest u to back up ur important things and format ur pc then without opening any hard drives install a AV before proceeding with driver installation and while formatting format drive C in normal mode not in quick mode!
Bye the way what about ur AV?
Thanks....

kiddo 27Aug2009 22:48

Re: 'Search' show up on double-click (open directory)
 
Thx 4 the tips,
I've searched to some place,
and lead me to Microsoft Support site,
and I found the solution for this problem
(I haven't try it yet... :p)

Look like there were 2 registries changed by the virus,
so to fix it, open 'regedit'

Code:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\Shell, modify to 'none'
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\Shell, modify to 'none'

hey, pankaj,
thx 4 ur tips last time,
I still using Avira9,
today I almost lost my crack files (PDVD9),
and a new problem comes....

I instal PS CS4, with crack 4 full activation,
but today it can't be run,
I don't know what happen,
I just have a full scan today,
any clue?

pankaj.sea 28Aug2009 08:58

Re: 'Search' show up on double-click (open directory)
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by kiddo (Post 56305)
Thx 4 the tips,
I've searched to some place,
and lead me to Microsoft Support site,
and I found the solution for this problem
(I haven't try it yet... :p)

Look like there were 2 registries changed by the virus,
so to fix it, open 'regedit'

Code:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Directory\Shell, modify to 'none'
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Drive\Shell, modify to 'none'


Hi!
I thinnk this reg enrtries may solve theproblem, coz as we dont have this problem, I found the default values are the same as u mentioned! So try this and post result! :shy:

kiddo 31Aug2009 13:09

Re: 'Search' show up on double-click (open directory)
 
yesterday, I had tried and...
Hurray....
It works!!!

but I found another proble:(
--------------------------------------

Problem maker, lol :D
hope all of u will help me


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 20:11.