Go4Expert

Go4Expert (http://www.go4expert.com/)
-   Game programming (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/game-programming-forum/)
-   -   Mind games 07 (http://www.go4expert.com/forums/mind-games-07-t19131/)

rockyrakster 22Aug2009 18:25

Mind games 07
 
MIND GAMES 07

ABOUT THE GAME
It Basiclly consists of two Games Hangman and speedspell(Those Using tatasky should be familiar with his game) and is written in c++ .This was my first game and done in early 2007.
HANGMAN
1.This uses file handling
2.Uses Bubblesort technique for high score
3.Good presentation
4.If you find the right answer you get some get Trivia on it too
5.4 Categories with 3 levels each are there.
6.Stores alreday entered letters.And pops a message when re-entered
SPEED SPELL
1.In this game I will give you a nine letter word jumbled.You have to find and form various words with.Points will be given based on the size of the word you form.
2.A good timer system
3.Back space usage in getch() and You can't enter a larger word than a nine letter world.
4.Stores Already entered words and pops error when re-entered

DRAWBACKS
1.In Speed spell there is limitation in the words available in dictionary of the program.I might have left out simple words
2.Presentation could have been better but as it was my first this was what I could manage...
This might be long but made it quite efficient

CODE:
It is long so see it in program
the download in txt file

http://www.4shared.com/file/12686154..._Games_07.html

please comment

mayjune 22Aug2009 19:06

Re: Mind games 07
 
I think you can post the link directly. Is it right shabbir?

mayjune 22Aug2009 19:18

Re: Mind games 07
 
I have vista. So i am using DosBox. I run the program, it runs fine till begin, after that the screen is blank. In both the games..Am i doing something wrong?

ps - in your rar file, you added .swap files. They are of no need and take a lot of space.

rockyrakster 22Aug2009 21:14

Re: Mind games 07
 
Mate in the program there is a line called
Mate put all the dat files in your default program directory with the program file and run it .I have found this error in many PC's but in my system it works from everywhere.Just check your default folder in your direcories option and copy all files there mate it should work:)

SaswatPadhi 22Aug2009 21:27

Re: Mind games 07
 
I wonder why do people still use Turbo C++ ...

rockyrakster 22Aug2009 22:01

Re: Mind games 07
 
Mate It is the basic and best way to learn for newbie's.It sets strong basics in OOP

shabbir 23Aug2009 00:01

Re: Mind games 07
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mayjune (Post 55753)
I think you can post the link directly. Is it right shabbir?

Not yet. Double digit post counts but I have done that in the post.

mayjune 23Aug2009 00:21

Re: Mind games 07
 
Quote:

Mate It is the basic and best way to learn for newbie's.It sets strong basics in OOP
Basic yes, strong basics no... 'Coz it is not ANSI C, and now i am trying to move on from TC to Code Blocks and I feel why are we taught TC in the first place..????

Its like saying learning DOS first to learn how to use an OS....you don't need to!! Just jump to Xp/Vista..

and all the files are in the same folder, else it wont compile... I zipped it to TC>mindgames> all files..
i see its all there...it runs fine uptil there...anyone else has this problem??

rockyrakster 23Aug2009 16:49

Re: Mind games 07
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mayjune (Post 55769)
Basic yes, strong basics no... 'Coz it is not ANSI C, and now i am trying to move on from TC to Code Blocks and I feel why are we taught TC in the first place..????

Its like saying learning DOS first to learn how to use an OS....you don't need to!! Just jump to Xp/Vista..

and all the files are in the same folder, else it wont compile... I zipped it to TC>mindgames> all files..
i see its all there...it runs fine uptil there...anyone else has this problem??

Hey just unzip all files to default program folder[The folder by default where you can save programs it will work...

mayjune 23Aug2009 17:08

Re: Mind games 07
 
The Hangman started (i didnt change anything) i could see the guy hanging at starting. But if i press anything i didnt get any response.
by any response I mean if i entered incorrect it responded but if correct it didnt...
Also while in menu, if i press right down keys the game exited.
In speedspell i couldnt see anything. I don't know if its vistas problem or what? Though i have used Dos Box for TC's graphics but i am not sure whats wrong. All the files are there (as else it wont work, would it? )


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 12:40.